Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

new REDCINE-X feedback

I was setting in/out points in the player window and exporting several clips today. Unfortunately, sometimes the in/out points I specify don't stick, and the whole clip gets added to the queue. Don't know why that happened several times. There's no way to catch that bug, or user error, except by noticing how long some clips are taking to render. The player window indicates the in/out points are set, but then I jump to the export window and add to the queue, the in/out points are not set.

Related to that, there are some things I really wish would change about the Redcine-X UI:

1) When you set an in/out point, the earlier/later portions of the clip outside the in/out boundaries are no longer accessible in the viewer. I always wondered why it was implemented like this. It seems like it was a workaround for not having timeline scroll/zoom bars in player window. Why not show in/out markers independent of the overall clip length, and leave all the footage accessible to me on the player timeline to move the in/out markers? Perhaps for longer clips this would require a zoom/scroll bar for the timeline. So be it. It is sorely needed.

2) The user specified in point of a clip is displayed nowhere, except in the current frame position field if the playhead is at the top of the clip. Less Information = More I Screw Things Up.

2a) I forgot what the key command is to clear in/out points on a clip in the player window. It's not 'x', option-X, apple-X, control-X. ...help...

3) In/out points and currently rendering frame number are not displayed in the batch monitor window. See Less Information Axiom above.

Thank you Red for all the hard work!

Bryan

I'd sign this one! Can't figure it out.

- Severin
 
With the last build of RCX i'm not able to get burn ins on QT, DNxHD's and TIFF sequences. It did work before (i tried it a couple of times with older builds...).
Don't know, why it doesn't with 158.

Another question:
working with and without RR i'm finding these debayer settings in the export settings.
There is a nearest fit option in there. I read in the manual that this allows to speed the transcoding up, because it chooses the nearest matching debayer. But what would the debayering be on 4K 16:9 transcoded to 1280x720 QT? I understand the examples in the manual but can't figure out what this one would be.

Thanks a lot!

- Severin
 
With the last build of RCX i'm not able to get burn ins on QT, DNxHD's and TIFF sequences. It did work before (i tried it a couple of times with older builds...).
Don't know, why it doesn't with 158.

Another question:
working with and without RR i'm finding these debayer settings in the export settings.
There is a nearest fit option in there. I read in the manual that this allows to speed the transcoding up, because it chooses the nearest matching debayer. But what would the debayering be on 4K 16:9 transcoded to 1280x720 QT? I understand the examples in the manual but can't figure out what this one would be.

Thanks a lot!

- Severin


Burn in works on 158. Maybe you don't have anything selected to show in the fields?

For 4k to 720P...
best quality: Full
better: 1/2 Premium
pretty good: 1/2 good
 
Color difference between QT Proxies and RCX QT render

Color difference between QT Proxies and RCX QT render

When transcoded to QT through RCX, there's quite a lot of color difference in between the QT proxies and the QT RCX renders. I didn't change any settings in RCX, and the color space and gamma settings were kept as shot.

This makes it very hard for the clients that just want to get what they saw on set.

What could be the cause of this?

Thanks for your inputs,
 
Hi Deanan et. al.,

I am loving the new build 158, especially the ability to, via clipfinder (Hans-Georg's superlative and cheap software) import an avid filmscribe xml and then send a fully conformed sequence to the RC-x timeline.

My request would be to have the ability to export those clips from the timeline (or alternatively a bin assuming it would keep their original sequence order) in dpx or tiff format so that their order is maintained and a separate folder for each subclip is made. So, for instance, a series of sequentially numbered folders would be created that correspond to their position in the timeline. This would maintain the separate clip structure (and original clip-name) yet allow the conformed sequence to be easily imported to a number of third party programs particularly for vfx.

Thank you as always, keep up the great work,

noel
 
Hi Deanan et. al.,

I am loving the new build 158, especially the ability to, via clipfinder (Hans-Georg's superlative and cheap software) import an avid filmscribe xml and then send a fully conformed sequence to the RC-x timeline.

Wow!
That sounds good - does it work reliably, and is it cuts only sequences?
 
When transcoded to QT through RCX, there's quite a lot of color difference in between the QT proxies and the QT RCX renders. I didn't change any settings in RCX, and the color space and gamma settings were kept as shot.

This makes it very hard for the clients that just want to get what they saw on set.

What could be the cause of this?

Thanks for your inputs,

The QT component is still using the much older color science.
It's being rebuilt for the new color science now.
 
Hi Deanan et. al.,

I am loving the new build 158, especially the ability to, via clipfinder (Hans-Georg's superlative and cheap software) import an avid filmscribe xml and then send a fully conformed sequence to the RC-x timeline.

My request would be to have the ability to export those clips from the timeline (or alternatively a bin assuming it would keep their original sequence order) in dpx or tiff format so that their order is maintained and a separate folder for each subclip is made. So, for instance, a series of sequentially numbered folders would be created that correspond to their position in the timeline. This would maintain the separate clip structure (and original clip-name) yet allow the conformed sequence to be easily imported to a number of third party programs particularly for vfx.

Thank you as always, keep up the great work,

noel

I'm not sure about the details of what you're asking. Can you write out with more info and how that would import into other tools?
 
Yes, it has been working for me very reliably but if I told you how to do it who would keep paying me to do it for them. :nono:

All joking aside here are some instructions:

1. In clipfinder preferences:



From Avid filmscribe export an xml and import to clipfinder specifying from which tag to pull the clipname from ie. CamRoll, TapeID in the prefs. You will then see a list of the clips that will need to be reconnected via "Replace MOV with R3D." which you can then order based on sequence position (you need to also enable this column in prefs) and then send to RC-x. It allows you to either send to a bin or timeline. You can then render in RC-x normally

Sorry I meant details of how you want RCX to output and what vfx app you're importing into and how the numbering would work there the way you propose.
 
Yes, it has been working for me very reliably but if I told you how to do it who would keep paying me to do it for them. :nono:

All joking aside here are some instructions:

1. In clipfinder preferences:
- general tab -> specify RC-x program location
- show columns tab -> enable sequence position
- avid tab -> specify from what tag to pull r3d info, ie. TapeID

2. Export filmscribe xml (you must first remove speed changes, reverse, etc.)

3. Import xml to clipfinder

4. Replace MOV with R3D

5. Order clips by sequence position

6. Send to RC-x
- timeline --> will order clips based on sequence position
- bin --> will place a list of all clips with accurate in/out

It's that easy. The last step that is still missing is the ability to directly export a new xml (ie. for color) or to create conformed sub-folders per my suggestion above but there are ways around this as well. I have had less luck with FCP but havn't played around with it much as I'm mostly working with Avid.

Clipfinder is a must have program IMO and please support Hans-Georg financially as he not only spent so much effort on such a great program for free for so long but spent a considerable sum in purchasing a redrocket card just in order to further help develop clipfinder. Here is a link to the new paid version (it is only $100) --> http://www.daun.ch/hamingja/

best,

-noel
 
Sorry I meant details of how you want RCX to output and what vfx app you're importing into and how the numbering would work there the way you propose.

Sorry I wasn't finished with my post and didn't see your reply.

I'm not sure about the details of what you're asking. Can you write out with more info and how that would import into other tools?

So for instance you have a timeline with 5 clips that have had their in/out points marked in the following order.

A001_C001_0323NV
A009_C061_0323FR
A004_C006_0323US
A003_C001_0323HU
A001_C026_0323OK

When exporting from the timeline it would create a folder for the first clip named 001 that would contain a sub-folder named A001_C001_0323NV. This would be followed by a folder 002 containing a sub-folder named A009_C061_0323FR. In the end you would have a series of conformed folders that could then be imported to any number of third party programs such as FCP/Color, AE, Fusion etc.

Hope this is clearer.

-noel
 
Additionally it'd be great to be able to choose how you number an image sequence ie. name.0000376, name.0000377 or name.0000001, name.0000002. Perhaps there could be a means to create a custom naming convention?
 
So for instance you have a timeline with 5 clips that have had their in/out points marked in the following order... ....When exporting from the timeline it would create a folder for the first clip named 001 that would contain a sub-folder named A001_C001_0323NV....
-noel

How about if Redcine-X could just import & export a Final Cut Pro XML?

:-)

Bryan
 
Sorry I wasn't finished with my post and didn't see your reply.



So for instance you have a timeline with 5 clips that have had their in/out points marked in the following order.

A001_C001_0323NV
A009_C061_0323FR
A004_C006_0323US
A003_C001_0323HU
A001_C026_0323OK

When exporting from the timeline it would create a folder for the first clip named 001 that would contain a sub-folder named A001_C001_0323NV. This would be followed by a folder 002 containing a sub-folder named A009_C061_0323FR. In the end you would have a series of conformed folders that could then be imported to any number of third party programs such as FCP/Color, AE, Fusion etc.

Hope this is clearer.

-noel

Got it. But I don't think that would get you a round trip back into an editor or vfx except for a simple cuts only linear sequence.

There might be a nice way to round trip the filenames but need to think on it more...
 
When transcoded to QT through RCX, there's quite a lot of color difference in between the QT proxies and the QT RCX renders. I didn't change any settings in RCX, and the color space and gamma settings were kept as shot.

This makes it very hard for the clients that just want to get what they saw on set.

What could be the cause of this?

Thanks for your inputs,

There is a setting on export that says "automatic gamma correct" or something like that.

We always make sure to UNCHECK that box and have ZERO issues with Gamma shift.

Give it a try
 
Hi.

I have been trying to work out a workflow with clipfinder and rcx158. And I just read Luca Immesi's workflow and ran into some problems with rcx158

Read post 3, variation 3.
Redcine X has some limitations :-(especially it overwrites the files with the same name) but considering this limitation I'm having a pretty solid workflow, not ideal but it works for now.

1 Export an XML from FCP
2 In Clipfinder 2.5 choose File>Import Clips from FCP XML
3 In the import window select the XML, uncheck import subclips
4 In Clipfinder>Edit>Send to RedcineX>Timeline
RedcineX will start and in the timeline they will be all the WHOLE clips from FCP XML and they will NOT be in FCP XML order.
5 Grade the clips
6 In RedcineX>Window>export tool, click on the plus, in the export settings choose a name, choose a format, resolution and debayer settings (i.e. quicktime prores 4444 1920x1080 full), in output location choose "output with Clip filename to selected folder", click on "select an output folder" and choose a destination folder or make a new one on your system, hit ok, choose "Timeline (selected clips)", click on RX timeline and press "command-A" (select all) and in the export tool hit export. RX will start the render and it will put the files in the destination folder. You can see the render progress going to RedcineX>Window>batch list.
7 When RX finished the render open Clipfinder>Tools>Run conform on FCP XML file
8 In the conform settings window in the XML input put the path to the XML previously exported from FCP, in the output XML choose a name and file path. Check "use only 9 or 16 characters of filename in input xml", check adjust sequence width and insert the timeline resolution you need (i.e. 1920x1080), in clip directories put the path to the destination folder containing RX renders. Hit run conform.
9 Open or Import the new XML (output XML generated by Clipfinder) in FCP. Check the sequence settings. Check the timeline: all the clips should be in the right order with the right length.
10 Enjoy.



For us rcx158 is rendering out clips with the wrong timecode, thus making it impossible to reconnect it back in FCP.

The problem is that rcx158 is giving the outputted clips (in our situation qt prores 4444) the timecode of the start of the R3D not the start of the clip in the redcine-x bin.

If a R3D starts at 09:00:00:00 and we set the inpoint to 09:00:30:00 the rendered quicktime will still start at 09:00:00:00

Jamie Parry saw this problem as well when exporting to MXF's, and Deanan said that this should be fixed in the next build of rcx.

Hiya
jamie here
i have written an app that takes an AVID EDL (from a decomposed sequence)
makes a .lua script with the right clips and the right in and out frames (in 25fps land so far at least) and they all go into bin 1 as per deanan's example.
BUT....
when i export all clips in bin (which i want to do to get clips to RELINK to in the Symphony/media composer
I get the same video problem as here when anything other than full debayer is used
but the MAIN problem is that in the MXF that is made the START value in the MXF is the start of the original R3D file NOT the start of the CLIP
Redcine-X reports the correct value when you drag from the bin into the viewer window and look at AC timecode.
So really if you want an AVID conforming tool with grading ability in redcine-x it's already done, I just need you lot to ask Deanan etc very nicely if they would fix the timecode issue.
cool
:-)
j

Thanks. Should be fixed in the next build.

Is no one else seeing this problem with timecode in rcx158?
 
Hi.

I have been trying to work out a workflow with clipfinder and rcx158. And I just read Luca Immesi's workflow and ran into some problems with rcx158





For us rcx158 is rendering out clips with the wrong timecode, thus making it impossible to reconnect it back in FCP.

The problem is that rcx158 is giving the outputted clips (in our situation qt prores 4444) the timecode of the start of the R3D not the start of the clip in the redcine-x bin.

If a R3D starts at 09:00:00:00 and we set the inpoint to 09:00:30:00 the rendered quicktime will still start at 09:00:00:00

Jamie Parry saw this problem as well when exporting to MXF's, and Deanan said that this should be fixed in the next build of rcx.





Is no one else seeing this problem with timecode in rcx158?
Try this, the first one works only with whole clips, so you have to render the entire clips.
Variation 3 to the workflow:
you need Clipfinder 2.2 that is free but I highly suggest to buy the full version (Clipfinder 2.5) and the new amazing little peace of software TP2 version 0.8 http://reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?t=42464 that costs 27$.
I asked Ryota to insert the option to render the duplicated clips to whole clip also in the timeline and he did it brilliantly.
1 Export an XML from FCP
2 In TP2 check "All cips to timeline(merged)"
3 Choose GO and select the XML exported from FCP
4 Choose a name and save the lua file
5 Start RedcineX choose File>Run script>choose the lua file created with TP2
RX will import all the clips in the TIMELINE in the RIGHT order with correct In and Out for every clip except the duplicated clips with the full length.
6 Grade the clips in the timeline
7 In RedcineX>Window>export tool, click on the plus, in the export settings choose a name, choose a format, resolution and debayer settings (i.e. quicktime prores 4444 1920x1080 full), in output location choose "output with Clip filename to selected folder", click on "select an output folder" and choose a destination folder or make a new one on your system, hit ok, choose "Timeline (selected clips)", click on RX timeline, you have two options:
Press "command-A" (select all) and in the export tool hit export.
RX will start the render and it will put the files in the destination folder.
You can see the render progress going to RedcineX>Window>batch list.
8 When RX finished the render open Clipfinder>Tools>Run conform on FCP XML file
10 In the conform settings window in the XML input put the path to the XML previously exported from FCP, in the output XML choose a name and file path. Check "use only 9 or 16 characters of filename in input xml", check adjust sequence width and insert the timeline resolution you need (i.e. 1920x1080), in clip directories put the path to the destination folder containing RX renders. Hit run conform.
9 Open or Import the new XML (output XML generated by Clipfinder) in FCP. Check the sequence settings. Check the timeline: all the clips should be in the right order with the right length.
10 Enjoy.
 
Back
Top