Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

ReLink Audio in ProRes QTs?

Chris Parker

REDuser Sponsor
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
1,932
Reaction score
0
Points
0
So, I am about to give up applying preset looks using log and transfer, because they are too dark.

I am going to export my clips from RedAlert to create my ProRes files for offline edit, as the DOP needs to have preset looks applied.

What is the fastest way to relink the audio so that these new ProRes files also have the matching audio on them? They need to end up as self contained clips for the editing process. Thanks...
 
i would still LOVE to have the RedAlert looks come up properly (ie. not too dark) through utilizing Log and Transfer, but have now found the workaround to reconnect my audio to the RedAlert rendered ProRes files. I am doing it all within QuickTime. I will post the instructions below for others, but if anyone has a more efficient way to do this, that would be great:

Extracting, Adding, and Moving Tracks
With QuickTime Pro, you can create a new movie from one or more tracks of an existing movie, while leaving the original movie file intact. For example, you could create a movie that uses only the audio from an existing movie. To do so, you extract the desired tracks.

You can also add the extracted track to an existing movie.

To extract a track (and add it to another movie):
Choose Window > Show Movie Properties.
Select the desired track or tracks and click Extract.
You can select more than one track by holding down the Shift key when you click.

QuickTime creates a new movie containing the extracted tracks.

To add the extracted track to another movie, select the movie (or the portion of it you want your pasted media to fit into) and choose Edit > "Add to Movie."
When you add a track to a movie, the track's duration is unaltered. For example, if you add a 10-second sound track to a 1-minute movie, the sound track plays for 10 seconds, starting at the position in the movie where you added the track.

To "scale" a track so that it stretches or compresses to a particular length, drag the In and Out markers of the target movie to select the duration you want the new track to cover and then choose Edit > "Add to Selection and Scale" in step 3. Scaling audio may change the speed of the audio (although the pitch remains the same when you play the movie in QuickTime Player). You could add video to sound instead, and speed up or slow down the video to match the audio. You might have better results if you compare the timelines of the two tracks and cut from one or the other until they have the same duration.
 
Back
Top