Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

FCPX Delete Library-Saved Files

BrendanLeahy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Hello all,

Pretty new to the FCPX workflow. Accidentally left "copy files to library storage" checked for my first project, edited it, and finished everything up before noticing 500GB was eaten up on my internal Mac drive.

I was wondering if there's a way to delete everything for that project's library storage? I've managed to connect all of the files now to the external they came from, but have no idea how to clear the library without destroying the edit.
 
I would do it at the finder level. Right click on the library and choose show contents. Navigate to the project and then to the appropriate media folders. Trash the contents and empty the trash.
 
The other option is to use move library.

or

option copy the library to a new location and delete it from the internal drive after it has copied.

then just double click on it from the new location.
 
Hmm. Be very careful. Instead of deleting, first try moving it onto the desktop and make sure that your project still works. If it does, then perhaps copying it on an external next. Don't delete anything. Warning, sometimes moving it may not mean that it will recognize it (even though nothing changed and it's the same media).

If you need to save space on the internal, you can also try and delete the Final Cut Backups in the Movie folder. Simply find the projects/libraries that you know you don't need and delete them.
 
Sweet! Thank all three of you - copying files to a new library without copying over the optimized media worked! Tons of space freeeee!
 
Hmm. Be very careful. Instead of deleting, first try moving it onto the desktop and make sure that your project still works. If it does, then perhaps copying it on an external next. Don't delete anything. Warning, sometimes moving it may not mean that it will recognize it (even though nothing changed and it's the same media).

If you need to save space on the internal, you can also try and delete the Final Cut Backups in the Movie folder. Simply find the projects/libraries that you know you don't need and delete them.

hehe, well yes I copy the project to another library on a different drive, reconnect to the original files, eject the drive with he duplicate footage and re-mount the new project to double check the connections before I delete anything. :-)
 
The nice thing about the way the library system currently is, is that it makes shuffling libraries around to different drives very simple because everything about a "project" is contained within the library.

If you create a library for every job, it is super simple to orgainze, hide, display any of your jobs.
 
Back
Top