Luca Immesi
Well-known member
- Joined
- Apr 13, 2008
- Messages
- 878
- Reaction score
- 0
- Points
- 0
- Location
- Italy
- Website
- www.esperimentocinema.com
UPDATE2: Another option that works very well with no problem it's to uncheck in Clipfinder import subclips in Import Clips from FCP XML and then send to redcineX all the entire clips. Cons: You have to render the entire clip but it conforms like a charm.
UPDATE: After the warning of Nick Shaw about the timecode issue and several attempts to reconform different sequences, I changed a bit the workflow, try if it can help.
This is an early test workflow, it's highly subjective and I have to try it with more clips and different situations.
Export an XML from FCP
In Clipfinder choose File>Import Clips from FCP XML
In the import window select the XML, check import subclips (if it's not checked) and in the merge cuts section choose none, if you don't want handles write 0
(if you have enabled "sequence position" in the "show columns" section of Clipfinder preferences, you will notice in the main window of Clipfinder a section called "sequence position" appears, this section shows the starting frame number of every clip in FCP XML). Hit sequence position (as suggested by Luis) and all the clips will be in the right place.
Choose Clipfinder>Edit>Send to Redcinex>Timeline
RedcineX will start and in the timeline they will be all the clips from FCP XML.
Grade the clips
choose the export tool, click on the plus, in the export settings choose a name, choose a format, resolution and debayer settings (i.e. quicktime prores 4444 2K ), click ok, choose "Timeline (all clips)" and hit export. RedcineX will make a single file with all the clips, import it inside FCP and make the cut manually. Not ideal but we are getting closer.
UPDATE: After the warning of Nick Shaw about the timecode issue and several attempts to reconform different sequences, I changed a bit the workflow, try if it can help.
This is an early test workflow, it's highly subjective and I have to try it with more clips and different situations.
Export an XML from FCP
In Clipfinder choose File>Import Clips from FCP XML
In the import window select the XML, check import subclips (if it's not checked) and in the merge cuts section choose none, if you don't want handles write 0
(if you have enabled "sequence position" in the "show columns" section of Clipfinder preferences, you will notice in the main window of Clipfinder a section called "sequence position" appears, this section shows the starting frame number of every clip in FCP XML). Hit sequence position (as suggested by Luis) and all the clips will be in the right place.
Choose Clipfinder>Edit>Send to Redcinex>Timeline
RedcineX will start and in the timeline they will be all the clips from FCP XML.
Grade the clips
choose the export tool, click on the plus, in the export settings choose a name, choose a format, resolution and debayer settings (i.e. quicktime prores 4444 2K ), click ok, choose "Timeline (all clips)" and hit export. RedcineX will make a single file with all the clips, import it inside FCP and make the cut manually. Not ideal but we are getting closer.