Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

Disabling Time Machine

Alex Carr

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
951
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
planet Earth in the Milky Way Galaxy
Yes, for all you DAM's and DIT's out there. I'll share my trick as Its very annoying when hooking up 5-6 Red Drives a day.

Open Terminal, its inside your Utilities folder.

Type:

defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup -bool YES

Type, to reverse the command.

defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup -bool NO

You can also command-click drag on the Menu Bar icon to remove it from the Menu bar.
I have completely eliminated Time Machine from my Computer, I'm very happy.
 
Have you ever connected a drive and had the dialog box saying "Want to use this disk for Backup?" Every single time you connect a Red Drive... It sucks and anyone doing it knows how annoying one more click really is when your out in the sun and cant see your screen too well, even with a courtesy... I rarely use the mouse, and the less I have to use it the faster RE-Loading becomes. I'm down to 6 minutes per card to Three 1TB drives, then I can clear it and return it to Camera.
 
my red drive has never brought up that dialog box except for the first time. i just went into time machine prefs and deselected it so it never asks again. am i missing something here?
 
Everytime the RedDrive is formatted Time Machine asks again.

I was more concerned with Eradicating Time Machine from all my computers anyway. It is worthless software, and annoys the crap out of me. And turning off the checkbox doesn't work. I'm still on 10.5.2, if the TimeMachine.prefpane was updated to include such an item then I am thankful, but either way this is the command to do what a checkbox can't in all situations.
 
it's not just redraid, but we bounce full raid sets between computers for different projects/client demands/output situations etc. and everytime any drive gets connected it asks, really really annoying
 
Back
Top