Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

Delete clip

david_winters

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
512
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Orange County, CA
In playback mode, is there a way to delete a clip? DSLR style? If not, I would love to see in the future.
 
There isn't a way to delete a clip.

The favoured approach is to fill the mag, then back up and reformat.

There's a lot of debate on the delete clip notion... the current idea is that it could cause errors or issues with the format and/or the way the RAW data is stored.

But, RED being RED, you really don't know what they have around the corner... the latest firmwares and beta add a lot of functionality, so it depends if this is an easy implementation or not :)
 
I don't remember where but I remember someone from RED, probably Jared, saying that they don't want to implement a delete clip function because it's too dangerous. What if you deleted a critical take by accident? They want you to be sure you want to delete a clip and do it after offload or, at least, with the REDMAG mounted to a computer.
 
Thanks for the replies. I can understand there being a media performance, or other technical issue, preventing clip delete. However, no delete to prevent the user from screwing themselves is lame.
 
I don't remember where but I remember someone from RED, probably Jared, saying that they don't want to implement a delete clip function because it's too dangerous. What if you deleted a critical take by accident? They want you to be sure you want to delete a clip and do it after offload or, at least, with the REDMAG mounted to a computer.

Yes, I think I've seen a quote that it will never happen.

But, how many clicks does it take to re-format?

Just put in as many confirm dialogs as that, and it's just as safe (actually, safer - as it's only one clip, not ALL of them as in a re-format).

Or have an 'advanced' mode that you have to turn on explicitly (with suitable warning when turning it on).
 
I have wondered about this feature. It would be useful considering how large some clips can get on the MAG, clearing up false takes and such would help.
 
i would love to have that feature, and not even with the media space in mind, ability to clean up the mess right away would save some time,
I deleted only about 10 Gb out of half terabyte from my last shot, but it took me roughly 40 min to go over the footage to find those clips;
 
Back
Top