Hans-Georg Daun
Well-known member
I have done a few tests with the new Log & Transfer plug-in.
There are 2 ways you can work with Clipfinder to edit quickly and then switch to wrapped R3Ds for finishing:
The difference between these approaches is in the edit steps, the conform steps are the same in both cases
1. Editing with reference files
(+: no transcode required -:requires more CPU power, depending on resolution)
- load clips into Clipfinder (CMD-I)
- select desired reference file resolution (P,M,H,F)
- drag into FCP
- edit
- export XML
- load XML into Clipfinder (CMD-ALT-I)
2. Editing with transcoded files
(+: faster editing -:transcode required)
- load clips into Clipfinder (CMD-I)
- render to ProRes at low debayer settings (e.g. 1K+)
- import transcoded files into FCP
- edit
- export XML
- load XML into Clipfinder (CMD-ALT-I)
- select "Replace MOV with R3D..." from File menu
Conform steps
- create temporary directory
- select all clips in the Clipfinder doucment you prepared as described above (CMD-A)
- press CMD-C
- go to temporary directory, press CMD-V. Clipfinder will copy all necessary .RDC directories to the directory
- in FCP, drag the temp directory onto the Log & Transfer window. Let FCP create wrapped R3Ds
- back in Clipfinder, select "Run conform on FCP XML file" from the Edit menu
- enter the FCP XML you created
- enter FCP's scratch directory for your project as the "clip directory"
- enter a suitable name for the XML output file
- if necessary, let Clipfinder re-scale your sequence(s)
- press "Run Conform"
- Clipfinder will warn you if it cannot find matching clips for your edit files.
- If the conform was successful, import the new XML file into FCP.
You have now replaced your editing files with wrapped R3Ds. Congratulations !
You can now delete the temporary folder.
If you are unsure about any of the steps above, look at the Clipfinder Help Pages (CMD-?).
If that doesn't help or if you run into problems, let me know, preferrably via my E-mail account which is listed in the Help Pages.
Notes: The more technically minded will realize that the temporary folder is not strictly necessary. You may as well drag your entire clip folder onto the Log & Transfer window.
This process would become even simpler if RED added the option to create wrapped R3Ds to REDline.
Cheers,
Hans
There are 2 ways you can work with Clipfinder to edit quickly and then switch to wrapped R3Ds for finishing:
The difference between these approaches is in the edit steps, the conform steps are the same in both cases
1. Editing with reference files
(+: no transcode required -:requires more CPU power, depending on resolution)
- load clips into Clipfinder (CMD-I)
- select desired reference file resolution (P,M,H,F)
- drag into FCP
- edit
- export XML
- load XML into Clipfinder (CMD-ALT-I)
2. Editing with transcoded files
(+: faster editing -:transcode required)
- load clips into Clipfinder (CMD-I)
- render to ProRes at low debayer settings (e.g. 1K+)
- import transcoded files into FCP
- edit
- export XML
- load XML into Clipfinder (CMD-ALT-I)
- select "Replace MOV with R3D..." from File menu
Conform steps
- create temporary directory
- select all clips in the Clipfinder doucment you prepared as described above (CMD-A)
- press CMD-C
- go to temporary directory, press CMD-V. Clipfinder will copy all necessary .RDC directories to the directory
- in FCP, drag the temp directory onto the Log & Transfer window. Let FCP create wrapped R3Ds
- back in Clipfinder, select "Run conform on FCP XML file" from the Edit menu
- enter the FCP XML you created
- enter FCP's scratch directory for your project as the "clip directory"
- enter a suitable name for the XML output file
- if necessary, let Clipfinder re-scale your sequence(s)
- press "Run Conform"
- Clipfinder will warn you if it cannot find matching clips for your edit files.
- If the conform was successful, import the new XML file into FCP.
You have now replaced your editing files with wrapped R3Ds. Congratulations !
You can now delete the temporary folder.
If you are unsure about any of the steps above, look at the Clipfinder Help Pages (CMD-?).
If that doesn't help or if you run into problems, let me know, preferrably via my E-mail account which is listed in the Help Pages.
Notes: The more technically minded will realize that the temporary folder is not strictly necessary. You may as well drag your entire clip folder onto the Log & Transfer window.
This process would become even simpler if RED added the option to create wrapped R3Ds to REDline.
Cheers,
Hans