- Banned
- #1
Hi,
I'm in post on an indie film shot on the Red One that has lots of greenscreen work. I'm having some color issues working with the footage in AE. Here's what I'm doing:
I exported the 10-bit log DPX files from RedAlert using Camera RBG / Redlog settings (full debayer.)
In After Effects, I've been using Adobe's recommended color management workflow for DPX files, which is as follows:
In File>Project Settings, you choose Depth - 32-bit, Working Space - Universal Camera Film Printing Density, and check the "Linearize working space" box.
Then import the DPX sequence.
Right-click the footage and go to "interpret footage>Main". Under the Color Management tab choose Universal Camera Film Printing Density.
Click OK.
Create a new comp by dragging the DPX sequence onto the filmstrip icon.
Then click anywhere in your comp. Then go to View>Simulate Output and choose Universal Camera Film Printing Density. I'm also assuming that simulating the view for Rec.709 works, by selecting that.
This workflow has been giving me some strange results. Highlights will often times be clipped, even though they were definitely not overexposed during the shoot.
I was wondering if anyone might have figured out a better way to work with 10-bit log DPX files in AE (as I mentioned the DPX files were rendered with RedAlert using the CameraRGB/RedLog settings from the original .r3D file.)
Thanks,
Michael
I'm in post on an indie film shot on the Red One that has lots of greenscreen work. I'm having some color issues working with the footage in AE. Here's what I'm doing:
I exported the 10-bit log DPX files from RedAlert using Camera RBG / Redlog settings (full debayer.)
In After Effects, I've been using Adobe's recommended color management workflow for DPX files, which is as follows:
In File>Project Settings, you choose Depth - 32-bit, Working Space - Universal Camera Film Printing Density, and check the "Linearize working space" box.
Then import the DPX sequence.
Right-click the footage and go to "interpret footage>Main". Under the Color Management tab choose Universal Camera Film Printing Density.
Click OK.
Create a new comp by dragging the DPX sequence onto the filmstrip icon.
Then click anywhere in your comp. Then go to View>Simulate Output and choose Universal Camera Film Printing Density. I'm also assuming that simulating the view for Rec.709 works, by selecting that.
This workflow has been giving me some strange results. Highlights will often times be clipped, even though they were definitely not overexposed during the shoot.
I was wondering if anyone might have figured out a better way to work with 10-bit log DPX files in AE (as I mentioned the DPX files were rendered with RedAlert using the CameraRGB/RedLog settings from the original .r3D file.)
Thanks,
Michael