Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

How do you set debayer settings in AE CS5.5?

Drew Lahat

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I looked everywhere and couldn't find a simple answer: Is there a place in CS5.5 to modify the debayer settings? I understand CS4 used to have a File->RED Settings window but no more.
Is it tied to the comp viewer resolution/downsample factor control?
Is it per clip, linked to the Interpret Footage->More Options->Debayer Detail setting?

I have the latest (Epic-capable) RED Adobe modules.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, Matthew. In CS5.5 I can go Main->interpret footage->More Options->Debayer Detail. There's "high", "medium", and "low". I'm still trying to figure out why use this different nomenclature and what it corresponds to (1/2 1/4 etc.).
Still a bit bummed that the debayer quality isn't tied to AE's quality setting (full/half/quarter). Seems to me like the most useful and sensible way to implement RED debayering in AE.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, Matthew. In CS5.5 I can go Main->interpret footage->More Options->Debayer Detail. There's "high", "medium", and "low". I'm still trying to figure out why use this different nomenclature and what it corresponds to (1/2 1/4 etc.).
Still a bit bummed that the debayer quality isn't tied to AE's quality setting (full/half/quarter). Seems to me like the most useful and sensible way to implement RED debayering in AE.

from ... http://forums.adobe.com/thread/886954

>>3.SteveHoeg, Adobe Employee Aug 6, 2011 8:04 AM in reply to trancepriest Report
>>Debayer and decode resolution are not directly exposed but chosen in one of two ways as of CS5.5. If you set the max quality setting then the decode and debayer will be done at full resolution. If you do not set max quality then ten resolution will be >>chosen automatically based on your output size. For example if you are exporting a 4k RED clip to 4k DPX then full resolution will be used. If you are exporting 4k to 1080p then 1/2 resolution will be used.

I'm not sure I follow that thread ... but it seems you have to do high and full, to get the highest quality. Something way important to check before I do my DI.
 
Back
Top