Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

Still looking for a post Workflow

Seth Fisher

Active member
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi all,

I'm dying here. I've tried many of the recommended post workflows, but I must be missing something. I have a short film that I would like to edit. Some of the scenes need some exposure tweaking. Do I do that before or after editing. If after, I'm getting mixed responses to question #1. If before, I think I'm doing something wrong (See #2 below)

1)If I edit in ProRes 422(HQ) done in Log and Transfer, can I reconnect the timeline files to the original R3D files to adjust exposure and curves in Color in the same way I would if tweaking the clips prior to editing (in RED Alert)?

2)In trying to apply custom RSX settings from RED Alert during Log and Transfer, my resulting clips in FCP all have a strong bluish cast to them. Any thoughts?

Thanks for your patience.:iamwithstupid:
 
1)If I edit in ProRes 422(HQ) done in Log and Transfer, can I reconnect the timeline files to the original R3D files to adjust exposure and curves in Color in the same way I would if tweaking the clips prior to editing (in RED Alert)?

2)In trying to apply custom RSX settings from RED Alert during Log and Transfer, my resulting clips in FCP all have a strong bluish cast to them. Any thoughts?

You can reconnect ("conform") back to the R3D's, but for your first project, you're almost certainly better off cc'ing the ProRes transcodes. I'd start off with offline-res transcodes, like ProRes SQ (not HQ) 720 quarter-res (which will transcode and get you editing pretty quick), then upres the shots in your edit to an online res like ProRes HQ 1080p, and reconnect those to your sequence.

And stop using FCP Log and Transfer for transcoding. Use RedRushes, and set it to "RSX" instead of "Camera" in the Look Source menu of the Render tab, then stop the transcode a few frames in and open the file to see if you like what the RSX did. If you're going to offline/online anyway, I would just edit the 720p's without any cc and worry about it when you upres.
 
Thanks, Joe. Once I've rendered all the ProRes(LT?) files out of RedRushes, should I simply File>Import>Files them into FCP?
 
For some reason, the files I run through Red Rushes are not playing back and they are crashing FCP when I import them. What should my Red Rushes settings be?
 
For some reason, the files I run through Red Rushes are not playing back and they are crashing FCP when I import them. What should my Red Rushes settings be?

If you're offlining (ignore settings not mentioned)

Render Tab:
Debayer>Quarter Res
Look Source>RSX (if you Red Alert'ed for CC)

Resize Tab:
Scale Box Checked
Presets>1280x720
Resample Filter>Lanczos (Sharp)

Output Tab:
QT Codec>ProRes LT

Output Folder - wherever

Make sure no &, %, #, @ etc characters in any folder names

All Red codecs and QuickTime versions up to date

Should work
 
Thanks. WHat about RSX settings. I've selected the RSX from the RDC folder I tweaked in RA. DO I use Clip RSX or Selected RSX?

Sorry for the walkthrough! Thanks!:confused1:
 
Clip RSX if you want to use the individual RSX's you made in the RDC folders

Select RSX if you want to apply one RSX to the whole batch
 
Still getting a black quicktime. Hmm.

Maybe not related, but when you have non 1byte text code involved in the folder names then you get black quicktime. This happens to us Japanese users a lot (only when unix based file structure is used like REDCINE).
 
Back
Top