Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

delete last clip

For those of us shooting longer scenes (which translates to doccu and other shoot'n'run scenarios) cannot use CF as of now, as they just fill up too quickly. On the other hand the RedDrive is always pushing our luck ;)

With the arrival of 16 and 32gig CF cards (or the Flash Drive), these more robust technologies will become an option for the quick shooter.
But only, if one can quickly erase NG takes.

In Drama, I totally agree: keep everything shot. Make backups all the time. Have plenty of media.

Unfortunately, this is seldom the case in docos.

So: Please have an option to erase files — at the minimum the last one. And make that an option that can be disabled.

Thank ye.
 
This exact function was "missing" when Sound Devices came out with their 744 recorder. It was later added because of on set workflow issues.

Essentially, since the recorder automatically names the files in ascending order (take number). If a false start (hit record) was made (the roll was aborted) and the AD/Script supervisor decided to re-roll with the same slate/take number (some may deem this in appropriate - but there are situations when you need to) - this required the recordist to go somewhat deep into the menue system and reset the take number, but since the old file (the aborted roll) could not be deleted, the new file would be named with an appendix - causing a bit of confusion in post...

Anyways, I think the delete clip function should be considered.

J.
 
Wildlife and documentary are the applications that come to mind as having most benefit. Hence its on the list, but it also needs to come with some high level of protection against accidental use.

1. SHORTCUT KEY (which could lead to "MANAGE CLIP" menu)
2. "MANAGE CLIP" menu: DELETE/MARK
3. DELETE SCREEN: "DELETE"/"CANCEL" - with default setting on CANCEL so you have to click to the side to confirm

I think this kind of protection should be pretty enough. Person who would still screw up with this should not be allowed near the camera anyway.
I suggest using the same logic in FORMAT MEDIA menu (FORMAT>"FORMAT"/"CANCEL" - with default on "CANCEL").

For the folks who find some features redundant or risky just allow stripped version of camera control/settings (stripped mode) and you'll make both sides happy.
I'll use Red on many different types of shoots and I would use delete clip option as well as clip marking on every one of them. Enormous time saving features.
 
If a false start (hit record) was made (the roll was aborted) and the AD/Script supervisor decided to re-roll with the same slate/take number (some may deem this in appropriate - but there are situations when you need to

A bit off topic, but during my Clapper Loading days in England, it was common practise that a new slate number would only be used if the director had called "Action". Otherwise the same number would be used, announcing "false start".
 
Back
Top