Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

  • Hey all, just changed over the backend after 15 years I figured time to give it a bit of an update, its probably gonna be a bit weird for most of you and i am sure there is a few bugs to work out but it should kinda work the same as before... hopefully :)

HOw do you delete a clip?

Has been discussed many times over the years. The consensus is the disaster of accidentally erasing a clip on set outweighs the convenience of fewer clips to go through in post.

You wouldn't recover the space anyway as that would open up the door to potential fragmentation during shooting. At best it could remove the directory so you don't see the file in post.

Everything has been discussed such as a multi-stage delete process with confirmations etc. but the decision has been carefully made and is unlikely to be revisited.
 
Has been discussed many times over the years. The consensus is the disaster of accidentally erasing a clip on set outweighs the convenience of fewer clips to go through in post.

You wouldn't recover the space anyway as that would open up the door to potential fragmentation during shooting. At best it could remove the directory so you don't see the file in post.

Everything has been discussed such as a multi-stage delete process with confirmations etc. but the decision has been carefully made and is unlikely to be revisited.

I never delete a clip or an image anyway, because of fragmentation. It could turn out to be a nightmare. Never have done it, since my first digital camera years ago. Always backup multiple times then format.
 
Hmmm, but isn't fragmentation irrelevant with SSDs?

Nope, it still storing bits of information in the same way as any other storage. Fragmentation can happen on a CF card, any type of digital storage can be subject to fragmentation. When deleting a clip it leaves that clip there, but it's available to be over written. So you could have one part of your clip written to the end of the card/drive then the next part written in the hole in the middle where the deleted clip was to write over. This could lead to errors and corrupt clips.
 
Yes, i know, fragmentation is still there, but it shouldn't be a problem. It's a major problem with HDDs, but for SSDs there is no big difference between randomly or sequentially written data. But i agree, sequentially written data is easier to restore on a corrupt media, at least thats the case with HDDs.
 
This was one huge feature on my last camera (Sony EX-1) that had a "last clip delete" that was a huge timesaver in post, not having to go through a take you know was unusable on set.
 
I wouldn't mind deleting clips. What you can do is just set the I/O in the meta data to one frame. Then just delete all the clips later that are < 10 frames. I wish you could at least flag Good/Bad.
 
delete "the last no good" take would not create defragmentation.
I view this feature as essential for remote filming where SSDs can not be off-loaded for long periods of time (due to lack of power, for example). Also, with lack of pre-record the lack of ability to delete at lest the last no-good clip creates logistical nightmare in managing the terrabytes of useless data when trying to capture wildlife behaviour.

I hope it will be implemented soon.

It can always be disabled after navigating 20 levels deep in menues for those paranoid with safety :)
 
Good point! The last clip will be the last clip so start again from that sector. I would love to see a delete or even just metadata mark that RCX can pick up.

delete "the last no good" take would not create defragmentation.
I view this feature as essential for remote filming where SSDs can not be off-loaded for long periods of time (due to lack of power, for example). Also, with lack of pre-record the lack of ability to delete at lest the last no-good clip creates logistical nightmare in managing the terrabytes of useless data when trying to capture wildlife behaviour.

I hope it will be implemented soon.

It can always be disabled after navigating 20 levels deep in menues for those paranoid with safety :)
 
Good point! The last clip will be the last clip so start again from that sector. I would love to see a delete or even just metadata mark that RCX can pick up.

Not quite sure it would work like that unless it actually did physically delete and write over it right away. Usually the way it works is that it would leave it there and then wait until it runs out of sectors to overwrite.

While it may be a good feature to have for some, I personally would never use it. I like to keep everything, and I try to avoid any chance of corruption or fragmentation at all cost by never deleting clips or images until I completely format the card. With that being said, it should be a feature and I guess it will be eventually.
 
Back
Top