Thread: RED PRO Touch 5.0 boots with 50/50 black and white image?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 RED PRO Touch 5.0 boots with 50/50 black and white image? 
    Senior Member Mike Krumlauf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    281
    So strange thing started happening today. The Red Monitor boots with this image. Fixing it is a simple unplug and plug back in of the monitor cable. Anyone know what could be causing this?

    RED SCARLET MX - #01884 "REDFORD"
    SIGMA 18-35MM F1.8 LENS / Optitek Prolock Nikon Mount / RED Pro Touch LCD 5.0


    Digital T Productions 2021
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,322
    Don't know the technical terms for it or exactly why it happens in every case, but as far as I know it's basically just a mismatch between the signal coming from the camera and the monitor's ability to synch up with it. It can happen with other RED monitors and cameras too and can appear in other ways as well (screen-tearing, black screen etc.) Sometimes you can switch between clear/no overlay view and back to overlays again to fix it without having to pull and re-plug the monitor cable, other times it might take a couple of cable inserts before the image comes through properly. I doubt you'd see it happen very often.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    599
    Try another cable.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Jeff Whitehurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Panama City, FL
    Posts
    567
    Quote Originally Posted by Vance Colvig View Post
    Try another cable.
    Agree, from your picture it looks like your 90 degree elbow has been modded or whittled down
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,322
    That tape looks like it's covering over a missing end cap. Might be a good idea to use another cable. I wouldn't be too concerned if the glitching still keeps happening occasionally though.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Member Joshua Wilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Georgetown, GA
    Posts
    63
    Loose LEMO ports and hinge screws can cause things to glitch as well. If there's any play I would make sure everything is tight.
    C.G. Productions and Entertainment

    RED DSMC 1 Repair

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...TMf5gdvV-FxAln
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Mike Krumlauf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    281
    I figured it might have been the cable. The cable it came with has seen better days and yes, the L plug going into the monitor is missing its cap so Etape is over it. Will be replacing it this week.
    RED SCARLET MX - #01884 "REDFORD"
    SIGMA 18-35MM F1.8 LENS / Optitek Prolock Nikon Mount / RED Pro Touch LCD 5.0


    Digital T Productions 2021
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts