Thread: EPIC ~ PL vs EF Lenses

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 EPIC ~ PL vs EF Lenses 
    I have been hunting around for a great small set of lenses to use on the Epic MX. I was thinking about plucking up a set of OTUS lenses, as they are just amazing. I have no experience with these lenses, apart from reading some reviews and some videos online. Then, I was thinking some PL Arri/Zeiss standard speeds t2.1 (i believe), but not buying a whole set to begin with, but let us say a 20mm, 40mm and maybe the Makro 60mm. However, I find it impossible to find good references for these lenses or videos shot with them ~ understanding that probably a lot of videos I have already seen have been shot with them!

I would like maybe some of the community to share their experiences and maybe a 2c or a few to talk with me through the ins and outs of these lenses.

As a side note, I already have a set of the ZE Zeiss Classic's and I love those and the image I get from them, so I feel Zeiss is my playground at the moment, but am always open for suggestions or examples of other great pieces of glass to pair with the EPIC MX or Dragon.

Churs!
    Patrick Webb,
    Director of Photography
    Heapsgood Productions, Norway.
    (www.Heapsgood.no)
    EPIC-X #06833 "Monsta" & SCARLET-X #01773 "Scratch"
    Carl Zeiss, Voigtänder & Russian glass

Zeiss "standard speeds" and Zeiss Otus are very different-- about as far apart within the Zeiss family as you can get!

-Standard speeds are sharp vintage optics, whereas Otus are extremely sharp modern optics-- the Standards will look soft in comparison. (Not too different to the Zeiss classics, though.)
    -Standards cover s35, Otus cover 135 "full frame." (Standards may vignette a little on Red's s35+ chips-- Phil Holland's tool shows them covering 5.5kWS on Dragon 6k, for example.)
    -Standards are built as fully manual cinema lenses with all that implies, Otus are built as still lenses and may require conversion.