Thread: Nikon Mount Titanium

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Nikon Mount Titanium 
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    I bought this mount Battle Tested from Red UK last november but I've sold my Nikon lenses in the meantime.
    On sale because I've switched to Canon Mount with Sigma Art lenses.

    1000€
    Attached Images
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    Completly forgot I had this mount for sale.

    Price reduced to 900€.

    With more Sigma Art lenses being recognized it may become usable after all. Now we need Red to update the 85mm !
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    back on sale

    650€
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    bump, price reduced.
    550€.

    That's a Titanium Nikon mount straight from battle tested Red UK that has been used only a few times before switching to Canon.
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    Price reduced at 400€ OBO.
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Mark A. Jaeger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    SE Washington
    Posts
    176
    I am curious but not presently a customer as I already have a Nikon mount.
    Did you switch from Nikon to Canon because of trouble with recognition and operation of Nikon lenses on RED?

    I won't go into detail but I've had a bunch of trouble with my Nikon glass on my Monstro. So much so that I have almost stopped trying to use Nikon except for my 600mm telephoto. RED, in my opinion, should not even claim to support the use of Nikon glass.
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    I switch to Canon because I had more sigma AF lenses than Nikons AF.
    I actually had more AIS lenses, and it was a waste of money to store a smart mount as I had also a Nikon Posilock mount which worked fine. But then I sold my AIS to go full Sigma Art.
    I had the whole Art prime serie, but now I work mainly with their zooms on Canon mount.

    A while back on DSMC1, the Nikon lenses recognition was erratic. They all worked but sometimes, the iris was stuck a f22 and it needed a reboot to make it work.
    It worked better with the DSMC2 though, on Monstro and Scarlet-W. But occasionaly it started again.

    I have to say the last test I did on it was late 2017. It probably have changed since.
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Mark A. Jaeger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    SE Washington
    Posts
    176
    Thanks for the response. Are you saying that the Posilock mount gave good results? It appears that the Posilock converts the lens to manual operation. Is this so, does it include iris and focus? What about the IS function? Is IS functional?

    I would love to be able to use my 600mm in a way that was not super-frustrating. When I mount the Monstro to the lens and then put both on a "strongback" to mount to the fluid head I cannot be messing around with clicking the lens multiple times to get it to be recognized. Similarly I can't have the lens hunting for focus and/or iris. All these troubles have repeated many, many, maddening times. If the Posilock allows use of the lens in full manual mode I might purchase one. If it allows use of IS, so much the better.
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,961
    No, the posilock is manual only.
    On the posilock, there is a small 0.8 gear to control Iris with the mechanical pin in Nikon F mount, but you don't have access to IS.
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
     

  10. #10  
    Member Roger Munns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
    Posts
    57
    Hi - I am interested. Will send you a DM
    Roger Munns
    Underwater Cinematographer
    BLUE PLANET 2 | APPLE UNDERWATER SCREENSAVERS | HOSTILE PLANET
    DSMC2 Helium & Gemini
    Gates Deep Weapon Underwater Housing
    IMDB
    www.roger-munns.com
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts