Thread: Sigma 50-100 and 85mm not working again on build 7.2

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
  1. #21  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,978
    it definitly firmware related, as I have a complete set of sigma prime, that goes silent during shot.
    Bérenger B. Brillante
    --Director Showreel--
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member Scott Balkum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    161
    The quick fix is to do the following: mount the lens. Wait 3 seconds. Unlock the lens, push the eject button, rotate the lens about 10 degrees. Wait 3 seconds. return the lens back to its locked position with a little speed. You want to slightly jolt it into place but not slam it. Just slightly harder than normal. Your lens will come back to life, every single time. I have become so used to it I just do it second nature with the 50-100. But it works, every single time. Don't waste time cleaning contacts or anything. It isn't the issue. It is is some kind of "wakeup" that isn't happening.
    Red Dragon-x "Big-Skippy"

    www.imaginationx.com

    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    10
    Anyone have any updates on this? or do we know of a way to roll back the firmware in the lens itself to v 1.x?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Member Alexander_Klose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Germany, Bayern
    Posts
    63
    Hey Eric,

    It depends on which lens you mean. The 85mm ( FW1.02 ) and 50-100 (FW 2.02) kind of work again sinds sigmas last update on these two lenses.
    Sometimes you have to disconnect and connect again from the mount but that sort of solves the problem.

    However, here is a way to roll back, but that involves shipping it back.
    I contacted Sigma and they told me I could send the lens in and they will roll back to the FW I tell them.
    It was arround 70euro with shipping.


    Since I use the 100mm very rarely and have the 85mm aswell I think I swap out my 50-100 for the 50 1.4.
    That lens seems to work like the 24-35 without issuses and has not that much breathing.
    All we need is magination, a brain, a lens & a minimag

    "ERIKA" RED HELIUM DSMC2 #0008325

    PORTFILIO | ECN STUDIOS
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Junior Member Trenton Massey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    18
    I've had other operators using my Helium mention problems with the brain recognizing EF mount lenses. Anyone know if this issue has been addressed with the latest firmware update?
    Trenton Massey
    Director of Photography, Camera Operator, Producer
    www.ambientskies.com
    trenton@ambientskies.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Rodriguez View Post
    Ok,

    I am not sure if this will be a solution to everyone, but this seemed to work for my Sigma Art 50-100mm EF lens on my RED Epic-W Helium:

    When I mount the Sigma lens onto my camera, I would get no communication between the lens and camera. I then would twist on and twist back the lens onto the mount, but to no avail.

    So I decided to HOLD DOWN the RELEASE BUTTON on the lens mount while I twisted the lens into the mount. Once the lens was fully twisted in, I released the RELEASE BUTTON on the lens mount, and slightly twisted the lens counter-clockwise (like as if you were removing the lens from the mount), and the lens would "click" into the mount. All of a sudden, the lens made internal noises and was connected to the camera. I had control of the aperture and everything. This has been working for me so far. I'm not sure if this is the be all end all answer to everyones problem, but I hope it might work for everyone! :)
    This legit worked for me, stupid workaround but I'm glad I can actually use my Sigmas now.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member James Drake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexander_Klose View Post
    Hey Eric,

    It depends on which lens you mean. The 85mm ( FW1.02 ) and 50-100 (FW 2.02) kind of work again sinds sigmas last update on these two lenses.
    Sometimes you have to disconnect and connect again from the mount but that sort of solves the problem.

    However, here is a way to roll back, but that involves shipping it back.
    I contacted Sigma and they told me I could send the lens in and they will roll back to the FW I tell them.
    It was arround 70euro with shipping.


    Since I use the 100mm very rarely and have the 85mm aswell I think I swap out my 50-100 for the 50 1.4.
    That lens seems to work like the 24-35 without issuses and has not that much breathing.
    Hey Alex, did you end up keeping your 50-100? Did you get the firmware to a point where it was working well with your Red? I have the 18-35 which works fine, but the 50-100 is spotty. Like you said, talking with Sigma they stated that the firmware was "too new" on the 50-100, but I'm not sure what older firmware should be on the 50-100 to get reliable performance?

    Thanks!
    Epic-M #1169
    Visit us at www.jdfnet.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    500
    Rotating the lenses around in the mount seems to get them to work.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member James Drake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Kiritz View Post
    Rotating the lenses around in the mount seems to get them to work.
    Ok gotcha very good. That means holding the locking mechanism and twisting it around a few times yea? And you said you’re running firmware 2.02 on the 50-100?

    Thanks for the help :)
    Epic-M #1169
    Visit us at www.jdfnet.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Member Ramon Solorio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    91
    This is the exact sequence that works on my epic dragon 6k still to this day.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts