Thread: Watchout for scams on Reduser folks!

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 Watchout for scams on Reduser folks! 
    Member Artino Ahmadi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    54
    I received a message a couple hours ago regarding my post looking for Redvolt batteries: http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...dvolts-charger

    someone on here named Douglas Atkinson with zero posts that just signed up sent me this and the messages followed via email (right click and select 'view image on a pc to see the pics);









    Smelled like a steaming pile of horseshit once I saw western union but I must say this guy is persistent!

    interesting enough I found that SN for the charger is part of a list that's online for some reason (shows up as a redvolt SN), not sure why its out there but came up in a google search.


    just a heads up! unfortunately we need to watch out for assholes like these.


    oh and i'm still looking for batteries if anyone is selling.
    Last edited by Artino Ahmadi; 07-27-2012 at 03:32 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Stephen Mick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    494
    Got a PM from the same user about some quick-release bits I'm looking to buy. I didn't respond because he's in the UK, but thanks for the heads-up.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Just tell him that you AGREE with him ---that the key issue is TRUST, and then,

    TELL HIM TO SEND THE RED VOLT BATTERIES to you AND TRUST YOU to send him the money! HA!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Thank you very much for that information Artino. Like you, I was in the market for a set of used Redvolts but at the end I decided to buy a brand new set directly from Red.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Kevin Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Santa Barbara & Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    123
    Same thing happened to me from same guy... I have a post looking for a used Canon Mount and he keeps sending me emails about how he can help me with what I need... but does not actually say the item.. (maybe some sort of bot email thing?)

    Ie: --
    "Hello,

    This is Scott Meyer from the United Kingdom.I am E-mailing in
    respect to your Wanted Ad placed over the Internet.I still have for
    sale in good and excellent condition.Please email me on
    jeccoo71@gmail.com if you are still interested or ring me on +44 702
    403 7610 .

    Cheers!!!!
    Scott Meyer
    103 Parkway camden London NW1 7PP"

    Heads up everyone.. Maybe the mods can block the guy from reduser..?
    Kevin F. Jones
    HIGH DEFINITION Digital Video and Film Production
    http://www.alamofilms.com
    home of the "DITBOX" portable RED workstation
    http://ditbox.com
    US Feature Film Credits
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0428585/
    phone/fax in USA +1 805-965-1753
    e-fax number: +1 206-600-5754
    USA mobile/sms: +1 805-252-2400
    US Office/Studio: 1624 Gillespie Street
    Santa Barbara, California 93101
    Europe/Stockholm Office & SMS +46708405774
    Skype: "Alamofilms"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    685
    This link has a lot of interesting ways to deal with such scammers.


    http://www.419eater.com/
    ________________________________________
    Frank Cueto
    Reaktor Post & Transfer
    San Juan, Puerto Rico

    Baselight Color Correction and DI, DaVinci Film Transfers (S35,35,S16 & 16) & Tape to Tape
    Smoke Advanced & Smoke HD ON-Line Suites
    (3) GFX/VFX Suites
    (2) Final Cut Pro Suites with HD-SDI Monitoring and IO
    ProTools 5.1 HD Suite, with HD-SDI monitoring/IO,recording booth & FX-Music Libraries
    (2) On-Set workstations powered by RED Rocket™ with 16TB RAID 6 storage & Dual-ESata CFReaders
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Posts
    89
    Artino, your sense of smell is really good as this guy is most likely a scammer and the deal a pile of horse shit. First clue you got correctly is the western union or money gram which are really not traceable once you have paid and your money has been collected at the other end. Also with the paypal account, I left my unused for 2 years and took me a few minutes to get it working again. it also take a very short time to setup a new account also after all the security and the verification of legitimate human on the other side so no excuse for anyone not to have a paypal account if they want to do legitimate business.

    Guys stay vigilant.
    Oje Unuigboje
    oje@touchmedia-ent.com
    TouchMedia Entertainment Limited, Lagos
    Scarlet-X 01233 (Godfrey), 01486 (Victoria)
    RPP 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm, 100mm
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Jon Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    TULSA
    Posts
    888
    That's an awesome sight! Looks fun

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Cueto View Post
    This link has a lot of interesting ways to deal with such scammers.


    http://www.419eater.com/
    RED camera owner.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts