Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: RED, Cineform and others...

Reply to Thread
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 86 of 86
  1. #81  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    177
    This is a big disappointment, but I guess I had somehow sensed it all a long.

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...?t=7131&page=2

    If Apple is so marvelous, then what are they so afraid of? Let them prove their worth in a fair race! Instead of running around making sure the competition is stalled.
    Itīs called third-party DEVELOPMENT not third-party DELAYMENT.

    I am sure all the happy mac owners can come up with all the proper excuses, but at the bottom line: Red claimed to be PLATFORM INDEPENDENT!
    People like myself have made large investments on the basis of this information, and now the least you can do for your disappointed customer is to lay out this agreement in the open. Because I would not like to run out and buy a macworkflow now, only to find out two months later the codec is "finished".

    And what about listening to the customers. PC-based workflows doesnīt seem to be a small minority expecting special treatment- quite the contrary. So Jim, reconsider... itīs time to "Kill your Darlings"

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...highlight=poll
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #82  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,732
    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
    This is a big disappointment, but I guess I had somehow sensed it all a long.

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...?t=7131&page=2

    If Apple is so marvelous, then what are they so afraid of? Let them prove their worth in a fair race! Instead of running around making sure the competition is stalled.
    Being rather platform agnostic, the main problem is:

    Final Cut has no 4k, only 2K (the camera is 4k),
    Final Cut has has no 10/12bit RGB, but only 8bit (the Camera is 10/12bit RGB) and FCP forces a colorspaceconversion to YUV for precision work, even when source and target are RGB.

    Therefore, fcp simply doesnīt process the cameras images at the given quality, but eliminates 75% of the pixels.

    Otoh, Scratch isnīt an editing platform and only runs under windows, which is a -big- setback for anyone used to a one-stop online (as discreet smoke, avid ds nitris, quantel eQ users etc are used to since many many years). furthermore, it has no 4k display and no realtime 4k playback (as dvs clipster and other offer), so you need to convert the redraw files anyhow.

    red announced being an open system - the opposite is the situation right -now-. However, Jim Jannard and his team announced to open up the fileformat specifications no later than before nab.

    My opinion is that this is all slowing down reds momentum - sadly.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #83  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    379
    HI all,

    I'm a little lost with all this, one dumb question for anyone that knows the answer, no matter what build etc comes out for the camera, will we always beable to run redcine on a pc and output any format qt file we want?

    Or will even that feature been gone after build 14?

    Sorry for the dumb ass question.

    stricko
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #84  
    Senior Member Michael Morlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    584
    Stricko,

    In short, at this time:

    Only the RED Camera and RedAlert (Mac only) can create a QT proxy.

    There is no RED RAW QT wrapper for the PC (and QT should be avoided anyway.)

    Audio does not make it through REDCine. Rely on dual-system audio recording for now.

    As I understand it, future versions of REDCine for both Mac and PC will create a QT proxy, export audio, and there will be a QT codec for the PC.

    Hope that helps,

    Michael
    Michael Morlan
    DP . Operator
    http://michael-morlan.net
    http://talltalepictures.com
    http://austinindiecamera.com


    Red One MX 414 . Epic-X 123 . 18-85mm T2.9 zoom, etc.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #85  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    379
    Actually what I meant was this, right now with redcine I can export from red file to qt cineform rgb, i'm not talking to a qt wrapped raw file, just export the red file to qt cineform or any codec i like like prores etc.

    Will redcine always be available on pc no matter the build?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #86  
    Senior Member Antony M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sussex, England & Sachsen, Germany
    Posts
    775
    Back in 01-18-2008, 04:12 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob Lohman View Post
    My appologies up front for this post...


    Guess what, all of this has now taken up valuable time of mine that I could've used to ... work on the command line tool, R3D trim tool and the SDK that would've properly done all of this.
    It's now more than 2 years later, and the only R3D Trim tool available yet is a Beta from Yohance Brown and Brian Heilig.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts