Thread: 2K r3d 1600 ISO looks amazing

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42
  1. #21  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,223
    Was the monitoring path set to 1600ISO or was it captured at ISO800 and then pushed to 1600 in post? I upped it to 3200ISO and it's still noiseless (although I do add the default "Super 35 Grain" in RCXp, which probably masks it a bunch.) I added unsharp mask at default settings and you can't tell that it's "only" 2k on at a 1440x900 monitor (that is to say, it looks as good as 4k sampled down to fit the same screen).

    And, yes, I love the 85 nikkor... even the older f2 I have.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    25
    Gosh! OP gotta spill the beans on how he managed to get such quality?? Was it black shaded at the perfect temperature or something? Seriously I've never gotten quite the same quality, even in pretty decent lighting... Share the magic!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,303
    Thanks for the feedback guys, but like I said, nothing special going on here other than the lens. I recorded it at 1600 ISO and black shaded a few days before. The one other thing that might be helping is the compression ratio since it was shot at 3:1.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    What Firmware was installed when you shot that?

    Thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,303
    The latest one :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Scott View Post
    The latest one :)
    So I guess, the rumors about the camera geting noisier with this firmware are not 100% true :).

    I tried to export a MOV out of your footage in REDCINE-X PRO but all my attempts (many different codec settings) had gamma shifts. Any one knows how to overcome this problem?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member Matt Ryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    3,756
    When you setup your export settings click on video setup:


    Make sure gamma correction is set to NONE:


    Also make sure in your RedcineX Pro Preferences that you auto save RMD so your color and adjustments stick once an adjustment or tweak is made instantaneously.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,303
    Nice info Matt, cheers :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member Joseph Coleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    400
    I'm very impressed with this clip, just amazing detail. Its pretty much the opposite that everyone has been saying about Scarlet at 2k. Clean with little noise. So I added a little grade and Twixtor to around 150 fps.
    J.H.C Epic-X #03520 (Sherry Baby)
    http://Coleman-Media.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Scott View Post
    The one other thing that might be helping is the compression ratio since it was shot at 3:1.
    Bingo.

    When you have less resolution to begin with, you should lower the compression ratio to keep as much detail as possible.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts