Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: EPIC 12 and 16 bit RAW

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1 EPIC 12 and 16 bit RAW 
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,202
    Noticed that the EPIC is listed as both 12 and 16 bit RAW... when is it 12 and when is it 16?
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    835
    it's interesting how many many times i read threads talking about this and never get to read an aster from red ... everybody are saying that is 16 bit , but i honestly never read any official word from red ....

    g
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    REDuser Sponsor Martin Stevens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrae Palmer View Post
    Noticed that the EPIC is listed as both 12 and 16 bit RAW... when is it 12 and when is it 16?
    I have tried a few times to get an answer to this, and have not been able to get an answer from Red.

    So.......perhaps, internally the system is actually less than 16 bit, but in Redcine-X it can output at 16 bit.
    Regards,
    Martin Stevens

    President and Founder of Glidecam Industries, Inc.
    Producer and Director at Metaphoric Pictures.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    835
    at this point i really think that epic raw is not 16 bit ... too many times this has been discussed and no one from red said that is 16 ...

    hope that they can step in in this thread ..

    g
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Tom.Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York/New Jersey
    Posts
    1,975
    the wrapper (redcode) should be 16 bit. but the A/D conversion is a different story. no clear answer.
    Local 600 IATSE Digital Imaging Technician
    Phantom Certified Technician
    Da Vinci Resolve Colorist
    Scratch Lab Operator

    https://vimeo.com/41679679
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Louis Maddalena's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,120
    Louis Maddalena
    New Jersey, New York

    Rent an Epic in NYC. Starting at $500 willing to ship. Scarlet also available starting at $350 (PM Me)

    Scarlet-X #1538 "Fever" -
    Scarlet-X #3330 "Epistolary"
    Epic-X - DRAGON #05607
    Zeiss Compact Primes, Schneider Xenon, and Canon lenses for rent and ready to ship. Discount along side camera rental.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    REDuser Sponsor Martin Stevens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by Louis Maddalena View Post
    This info is still too ambiguous for me.
    Regards,
    Martin Stevens

    President and Founder of Glidecam Industries, Inc.
    Producer and Director at Metaphoric Pictures.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Yaque Silva-Doyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    412
    I was under the impression that it was def 16 bit.
    Yaque

    Dos Rios Films
    http://dosriosfilms.com/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #9  
    It's rather complicated, but all that is important is that in camera it is indeed 16 bit, and RCX pro is 16 bit+ . Rob ( if he is listening ) can explain the "+" part .
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #10  
    RCX (and SDK) does processing at 16-bit and 32-bit float where needed
    ROBCODE Santa Claus @ RED

    "You get the chicken by waiting for the egg to hatch, not by smashing it with a hammer" - Jarred
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts