Thread: Avid Epic Audio now supported

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Avid Epic Audio now supported 
    Senior Member MichaelP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,491
    Download from Avid Knowledgebase support for Epic Audio via R3D AMA Plug-in v1.7 for Media Composer v6.0.x and Symphony v6.0.x:

    http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=394823

    Michael
    ‎"There are a thousand ways to point a camera, but really only one."
    Ernst Lubitsch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Belgium, Antwerp/Ostend
    Posts
    1,060
    a step in the good direction again
    audio and image postproduction in Antwerp. 2x recording studio with 5.1 surround.
    www.nuhollywood.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada
    Posts
    1,118
    I can confirm it works in Symphony Nitris 6.0.1 on a Mac. A good development, though RedColor3 and RedGamma3 are just around the corner (any day now!)

    Any idea whether 6.0.1 works with AJA Kona? I haven't seen any updates on AJA's site.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Belgium, Antwerp/Ostend
    Posts
    1,060
    can someone confirm how playback is with epic footage if you don't have rocket installed??? is it really useable at all working directly with the native files?
    audio and image postproduction in Antwerp. 2x recording studio with 5.1 surround.
    www.nuhollywood.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Steve Sherrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Torrie View Post
    I can confirm it works in Symphony Nitris 6.0.1 on a Mac. A good development, though RedColor3 and RedGamma3 are just around the corner (any day now!)

    Any idea whether 6.0.1 works with AJA Kona? I haven't seen any updates on AJA's site.
    It does. I am using it right now. originally the Kona 3 was not going to be supported, but somewhere along the line that changed. It was only going to be Kona 3G. Kona is working well. I have an occasional hiccup that I think is Kona hardware related but overall it does work and I have to say seems a bit snappier than the black magic card I have.

    I have not had a chance to test Epic audio yet.
    Steve Sherrick
    Chief Collaborator
    Modern Vintage Media
    STEVESHERRICK.COM
    Local 600 DIT/Operator
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Steve Sherrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Sven Seynaeve View Post
    can someone confirm how playback is with epic footage if you don't have rocket installed??? is it really useable at all working directly with the native files?
    Rocket doesn't affect playback. Only rendering/transcoding. My system is kind of old at this point, so I can't speak to what the performance on a new mac would be but by throwing it in draft mode you should get decent playback on a new system. I still prefer offline/online workflow. Red One R3Ds play very smooth in Avid from my testing. I might bring some Scarlet footage in and test with that.
    Steve Sherrick
    Chief Collaborator
    Modern Vintage Media
    STEVESHERRICK.COM
    Local 600 DIT/Operator
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member luigivaltulini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Switzerland- LUGANO
    Posts
    1,606
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Sherrick View Post
    Rocket doesn't affect playback. Only rendering/transcoding. My system is kind of old at this point, so I can't speak to what the performance on a new mac would be but by throwing it in draft mode you should get decent playback on a new system. I still prefer offline/online workflow. Red One R3Ds play very smooth in Avid from my testing. I might bring some Scarlet footage in and test with that.
    Hi Steve,
    redrocket transcoding all formats (prores,uncompressed,dnxhd,...) or just xdcam?


    thanks
    Luigi
    Color Correction DAVINCI Resolve/Digital Workflow/Red Camera Rental
    CARBON DRAGON #44 "DJANGO"
    DRAGON #599 "MACHETE " and EPIC #668


    SITE
    www.cine5k.ch

    www.rsi.ch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada
    Posts
    1,118
    Hey Steve -can you work with other formats beyond 1080P with the Kona -i.e. 2k projects or does the Symphony/MC software lock it at 1080 like it does with the Nitris? I've been sticking with my Nitris DX box for I/O but I do have a Kona3 card and the K3 box but haven't jumped in yet.

    Also, does the Kona play nice with DNxcel files? I read some of the documentation from Avid about hardware limitations and certain codecs don't seem to work, but they don't list them.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Steve Sherrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Torrie View Post
    Hey Steve -can you work with other formats beyond 1080P with the Kona -i.e. 2k projects or does the Symphony/MC software lock it at 1080 like it does with the Nitris? I've been sticking with my Nitris DX box for I/O but I do have a Kona3 card and the K3 box but haven't jumped in yet.

    Also, does the Kona play nice with DNxcel files? I read some of the documentation from Avid about hardware limitations and certain codecs don't seem to work, but they don't list them.
    With MC, only able to work up to 1080 at the moment.
    In terms of codec compatibility, I have been mainly focusing on DNxHD codecs and they have worked pretty well with the Kona 3.
    Steve Sherrick
    Chief Collaborator
    Modern Vintage Media
    STEVESHERRICK.COM
    Local 600 DIT/Operator
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada
    Posts
    1,118
    Let's hope Avid unlocks 2k+ for NAB with Symphony & MC.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts