Thread: Sdi and hdmi died

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 Sdi and hdmi died 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,104
    Anyone experienced this before ?

    Sdi and hdmi suddenly lost signal..

    Rivai
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Welcome to the club Rivai. Report back, this is getting interesting.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,104
    I did and very pissed right now. Happened in the mddle of shoot !

    Never has such problem before, i will reinstall firmware and see what happen

    R
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Nook Kim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Seoul, South Korea
    Posts
    683
    There's another thread about the same issue, but only the SDI port suddenly stopped working on the guy's Epic. I had similar experience yesterday on a shoot, but it turned out that the 7" TVLogic was fried in the daisy-chain. Even though I was lucky to have the Epic safely come home, but at the same time, I was very scared when the monitor out issue happened since there have been about four Epics in my city with damaged SDI port.

    You can also read a short research result I wrote in that thread. I'm very interested to see what Red has to say about it (my research).
    Nook Kim
    CEO, DIGITAL FACTORY, Seoul
    Digital Revolution Since 2009
    Color Correction/Digital Workflow/Red Camera Rental
    www.DigitalFactory.kr
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,104
    I had enough of this sdi fried things....it happened it red days, but this time it seems the epic output itself is the problem not the other monitor. Damn it

    Cant reinstall firmware for now. They keep on taking shot without director monitor. Only red touch lcd is working right now. This is so screwed up. Why hdmi signal disappeared as well ?

    R
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,104
    Update :

    Not sure what i did. But i reinstalled firmware 2.05 and 2.05 two or three times. Got it back working again.

    Thank God, none of the hardware damage. Scary moment

    But i dont know why it happened. My Red fried my sdi monitor for five to six times including decimator. I dont know if Epic will do the same this time.

    There's no guarantee

    Rivai
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts