Thread: bad frame

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 bad frame 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Playa Del Rey, CA/Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    128
    Hey all, I've been shooting random shots just getting a feel for the Scarlet and I've noticed a bad frame. I wasnt sure if anyone had any insight into this or not. Thanks again in advance. It was shot 2K. 60 fps. The clip was pretty long so Im not sure if that had anything to do with it but I'm just throwing it out there. It's been handling great otherwise.

    Best,
    -J
    Attached Images
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Benoît-Joan Clariana-Roig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    473
    Wow, looks like you shot in an untextured 3D world. :D
    BenJ - Operator/Colorist/Editor
    benoit.cr -at- hotmail.fr
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Matt Ryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    3,874
    Quote Originally Posted by John Brennick View Post
    Hey all, I've been shooting random shots just getting a feel for the Scarlet and I've noticed a bad frame. I wasnt sure if anyone had any insight into this or not. Thanks again in advance. It was shot 2K. 60 fps. The clip was pretty long so Im not sure if that had anything to do with it but I'm just throwing it out there. It's been handling great otherwise.

    Best,
    -J
    Is this from a transcoded file or does this appear in the viewer in RedcineX Pro as well?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Playa Del Rey, CA/Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    128
    Hey Matt, it appears in RedcineX Pro, Nuke, and Premiere. This is just a jpg render from the r3d file.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Steve Sherrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,832
    Looks like a corrupted frame from a bad data transfer.
    Steve Sherrick
    Chief Collaborator
    Modern Vintage Media
    STEVESHERRICK.COM
    Local 600 DIT/Operator
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chatsworthless, CA
    Posts
    3,180
    If this is just one bad frame in an important take, it can be fixed, given enough time and money. Talk to me in email if you want some suggestions for companies that fix this sort of thing. I know of a recent feature that had hundreds of corrupted frames, and as far as I know, all of them have been resolved and repaired to the point where no one will ever notice the problems.

    This is not a Red issue, BTW. There were significant digital problems on Superman Returns (to name one major film), and I believe the digital fixes there went to hundreds of thousands of dollars. Crap happens. Looked fine in the theater, and that's all that mattered.
    www.colorbymarc.com | colorist / post-production consultant
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts