Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: camera to camera sync?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62
  1. #1 camera to camera sync? 
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    Is it possible to do a camera to camera shutter sync with the Epic? Deanan did mention it a few times on the board (in 3D section) but I'm not sure how it's done.


    Quote Originally Posted by Deanan View Post
    Epic can sync from camera to camera without external sync.
    This is especially useful for offspeed, moco, etc.

    However, having a genlock sync input helps phase lock
    timecode to frame time while also locking monitor outputs
    to genlock (good for SIP, etc).

    So you can run without external sync depending on
    what your requirements are.
    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...t-3d-rig/page3
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Les Dittert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,411
    My Scarlets sync pretty well with just the gig-e cable. Let me rephrase that: the start time for each frame is very close to each other, but there will be a couple of frames extra at the head of the shot on one of the cameras. This can be corrected for by sliding the camera in a time line.
    -Les Dittert
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    I was referring to shutter syncing instead of timecode syncing. But... do have the gig-e cable... how do you configure it for timecode syncing?
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Eli Jarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    268
    I've been curious about this as well, especially after some of Deanan's replies...but the more I've looked into it, it still seems that you need an external device to get tri-level sync from (gen10) especially if there's SDI monitoring involved.
    Potentially I think there's a feature in there somewhere that just hasn't been enabled yet...
    Was gonna talk to support about this specifically once i got my bodies in...
    ---T H I N K P I C T U R E S--- http://vimeo.com/thinkpictures --- twitter: @powrslave ---
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    I'm wondering it it's possible with the RS232 to RS232 cable found here: http://www.red.com/store/cables/prod...to-rs232-cable

    In the manual it says this:

    CTRL (RS232 CONTROL)
    A 4-pin LEMO connector supports RS232 remote control for stereoscopic camera image capture, and third party metadata ingest applications.
    The shutter Sync Output signal acts as an immediate response hardware tally of a scan. This is useful for 3D or motion control applications where a slave camera or lighting device needs to be synchronized to a master camera.
    Alternatively, this output pin may be used as a GPO (General Purpose Output) tally, whose function is programmed in the USER KEYS menu. Default is Record Tally.
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Eli Jarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    268
    I've got these questions as well as some clarifications in for my Bomb Rep to field, which hopefully will lead to someone in support. Keep ya posted if i get anywhere
    ---T H I N K P I C T U R E S--- http://vimeo.com/thinkpictures --- twitter: @powrslave ---
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    I've sent a few questions to tech support myself... will update the thread on any responses.
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    Got an answer from John Restivo at RED that what Deanan posted does not apply to the EPIC. We will will need timecode and gunlock generators... no way around it.
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Les Dittert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,411
    So it does apply to Scarlet ? I tested with gig-e, and it's pretty damned close, after correcting the 1 or 2 frame slip.
    Easy test: start the two cams, draw fast circles with a laser pointer on a wall. The laser marks on the frames will tell tale the timing clearly.
    -Les Dittert
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Andrae Palmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    2,200
    I was referring to shutter syncing. How did you export the timecode using the gig-e cable?
    Andrae Palmer
    Founder, FACETMEDIA LLC
    facebook.com/facetmedia

    Package for rent in South Florida with EPIC-X Camera #721 & RED One #6353, RPP, RED Rocket, RED 18-50 & Oconnor 2575C. Davinci Resolve, FSI LM-2461W & Mac Pro 12 core. Rentals/Equipment List: http://facetmedia.com/camera-packages/
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts