Thread: Color Correction for "TimeScapes 4K"

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51
  1. #21  
    Senior Member jake blackstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,925
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Sherrick View Post
    But in fairness, they have a RAW development source window for RED, which is where I was thinking this would end up if anywhere. That way, it's treated like FLUT, or any other parameter in there. Now, I completely admit I'm not sure exactly what they are doing with Alchemy. I have my theories, but that's all they are. So again, maybe it's not something that actually belongs in the REDCODE RAW source settings and perhaps is more like a plug-in. I'd have to be schooled on exactly how Alchemy is working.
    Actually RAW settings adjustments are pain in the behind in Resolve. Right clicking on the selection, moving controls with a mouse, not seeing the RAW adjustments in the nodes window, etc. It's no picnic. Unless absolutely needed, I rarely touch those controls. Plug in is the right way to do it, that is unless someone else comes up with a better way. Plus, if I'm not mistaken, all RAW processing is done in CPU and not GPU. As it is, CPUs already are busy with debayering. IMHO, Alchemy in SDK is not it...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Member Richard G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    98
    very much looking forward to the description of the process. thanks bruce. and thanks lowe.
    CHRΩΠΩS
    Richard Gluck
    follow : http://twitter.com/richardgluck
    website : http://myivorycellar.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Pasquariello View Post
    AWESOME quote. AWESOME grades, too.

    Just want to add my voice that any finer details you supply, I will be absorbing like a sponge. I'm eagerly awaiting more info.
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard G View Post
    very much looking forward to the description of the process. thanks bruce. and thanks lowe.
    I'm not sure if this is what you want, Richard - but I have updated my original post now with 4 pages of detailed madness :)

    Questions? Was going to do a part 5 but am a little tired now...

    Bruce Allen
    www.boacinema.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member D Fuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    1,781
    Bruce, for a Resolve newbie, this was a real eye-opener. Thank you.
    David Fuller
    AirStream Pictures
    Portland, ME; Boston, MA
    EPIC-M #1053
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    1,259
    Thanks for sharing, Bruce. I think that is one of the most precise, yet through, grading guides I have read! Very well presented.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Member William Schultz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    45
    Wow. Amazing, that's really helpful. Thanks again for sharing!!
    William Schultz // Commercial Film and Video Editor
    Portland, Oregon / www.editwilliam.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    3,294
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Allen View Post
    "Real pros can make something awesome with like 3 nodes."
    It's not always about the number of nodes -- it's trying to figure out the shortest path to get the job done. I don't think it was necessary to enable 10 nodes to get this shot corrected, but everybody has a different style. Bear in mind you can do more than one correction within one node, and sometimes a parallel node is a wiser choice than a serial node. In other cases, the problem with serial nodes that build on top of each other (like 8-9-10), you may find that the later nodes are undoing what you did in previous nodes. Worse, they can start introducing noise when you start pushing levels too far.

    Typically, I only start slamming this many nodes (or layers) when I encounter really problematic footage, which I don't think this is. Having said that, I think the stills look very beautiful.

    I am also not boosting saturation in the dark stuff because there's quite a lot of color noise there.
    You gotta wonder why that's happening; it's also discussed in this thread elsewhere.
    www.colorbymarc.com | colorist / post-production consultant
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Sanjin Jukic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    8,901
    Thanks Bruce!!!!

    One of the best useful posts at RED User forum lately!!!!

    Also looking forward in a near future that you could show us

    how to color correct or grade skin tones on R3D files using Resolve + other helper apps..
    "There is no point in having sharp images when you've fuzzy ideas."
    Jean-Luc Godard.

    Dynamic range is, after all, the measurement between well saturation (photosite blowout) and noise floor.
    Thom Hogan
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member Carlos Dueñas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    La Habana-Quito
    Posts
    118
    Great post indeed. Thank you.
    Filming from the middle of the world.
    Cinefotografiando: Un blog de Cine en Español.
    http://cinefotografiando.blogspot.com/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Bruce - this is brilliant, thank you!
    Trevor Meier :: Story & Image
    http://trevormeier.com/
    http://storyspark.ca/

    Proud owner since R1 #182
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts