Thread: Error importing Red Epic files in Avid Media Composer 6

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Error importing Red Epic files in Avid Media Composer 6 
    It should be noted I am new to Avid entirely and a non epic owner, so please have some patience with my ignorance, I am a total newb on the NLE.

I made a new sequence/project, went to my bin, right clicked import and I got the following error message when trying to import "the file format of (file name) is not supported for import"

So then I decided "well I'll try it using AMA"

Right click, link to AMA, and it says "There were errors linking AMA files, see console for details".

The console says:

" p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }
    ------ AMA Link To File(s) ------

Trying to open a RED file with the QuickTime AMA plug-in failed. [ Plugin Name = QuickTime Plug-In Avid Technology, Inc. Version = 1.2 ] does not support /Volumes/Seagate 500GB HD/r3d files/A001_C003_0929N5_001.R3D"

It should be noted that I am using a core 2 duo Mac, 8gbs ram, with my media and project file on an external and that the files I have are r3ds that no longer have the file structure of the mag intact. meaning I downloaded them from the Reducation class I took via Reds site and they are only R3d files without the file structure of the mag formatting in place (quicktime ref files like on the red one if i remember right, its been a while since May when i took the class? i dont have a mag or epic and cant remember what those little files are in the mag structure, but you know what i mean, the non .r3d stuff in the mag? or maybe i am thinking of the red one mag structure not sure about this entirely).