Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Premiere and Epic Audio

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 83
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Antony M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sussex, England & Sachsen, Germany
    Posts
    753
    This may be a silly question, but...

    I have CS5.

    I see that CS5.5 is needed to support features such as new colour science, and HDR, etc.

    But can I import Epic footage shot at 2K or 4K with CS5?

    After all, it is still an R3D file, right?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    816
    Including Epic audio support must be much more complicated than we think judging from the amount of time it is taking to implement in NLEs... :-/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member Brandon J.F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,223
    I hope Scarlet and Audio support is coming quick...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Member Mathias HAecki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    56
    Antony, I tried to import Epic footage into Preminer Pro CS5, but it does not work because you need the Epic Importer which only works with CS5.5 or later.

    My guess is this will be the same problem with the Scarlet footage, but IŽm waitining on a confirmation on this in another thread.

    Looks like weŽll have to upgrade to CS5.5.
    I wanted to wait with upgrading till there is CS6 (maybee this spring) but iŽll might have to bite the sour apple and buy CS5.5 prior the CS6 release :o(
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Brandon J.F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,223
    Mathias, You could always get the Subscription. Production Premium will be $49 a month starting in January.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Member Mathias HAecki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    56
    Brandon, that might be a way to go. Did'nt thought about that route.
    The only question is will the previous programms of my CS5 Mastercollection work along a subscribed CS5.5 Production Premium, or will i have to deinstall it and reinstall when CS6 is getting released.
    Not really a on topic thought but maybee someone knows.

    I still hope that Scarlet will be supported by CS5 but I highly doubt it due of the current situation.
    But as you know: Hope dies at last.
    Maybe Adobe makes an X-Mas present and delivers Epic/Scarlet support on CS5.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Brandon J.F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,223
    I wouldn't count on Scarlet/Epic support in CS5.

    I think you can keep the Master Collection CS5 apps that are not part of Production Premium CS5.5 on your computer with your Production Premium CS5.5 install. You don't need a CS5.5 license to see if that works. Install the Production Premium CS5.5 30 Day Trial and then upgrade to the subscription when it runs out.

    Trial Download: http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/in...uction_premium

    Also, with the subscription you get free upgrades...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Member Mathias HAecki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by Antony M View Post
    This may be a silly question, but...

    I have CS5.

    I see that CS5.5 is needed to support features such as new colour science, and HDR, etc.

    But can I import Epic footage shot at 2K or 4K with CS5?

    After all, it is still an R3D file, right?
    CS5.0 supports RED ONE R3D files
    CS5.5 supports RED ONE, EPIC & SCARLET R3D files
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9.   This is the last RED TEAM post in this thread.   #19  
    It won't work in CS5.0, sorry guys. Yes, it's still an R3D file, but to support all the advanced features in Epic & Scarlet it's very different compared to the R3D files the RED ONE created.

    The audio issue is unfortunate, we had to change something last minute which didn't line up with Adobe's schedule. Coordinating these things is a job on its own sometimes :) I'm sure there will be an update soon!
    ROBCODE Santa Claus @ RED

    "You get the chicken by waiting for the egg to hatch, not by smashing it with a hammer" - Jarred
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Member Mathias HAecki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    56
    "soon" sounds promising :0) Thx
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts