Thread: More CUDA Memory Leveraged by CS5.5?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1 More CUDA Memory Leveraged by CS5.5? 
    Senior Member Stivan Widick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    The Most-Chosen City on Earth
    Posts
    356
    Does the amount of memory on the CUDA graphics card have much of a bearing on the performance one gets out of the Mercury engine in Premiere Pro CS5.5 and Production Premium when working with R3D files?

    I've read that it has a definite impact when working in Resolve. I'm wondering if a 2GB GTX 680 for the GUI and a 4GB GTX 680 secondary card will be enough to make Adobe and Resolve both happy, or if I should plan for two 4GB cards when they come out.

    Thanks,
    Stivan
    Epic-X #01895 (23) "Jughead"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    GTX 680 CUDA performance is currently atrocious. I would wait to see what NVidia does in the next couple months.

    Also be careful. It's RAM per *GPU* Lots of 4GB cards are actually 2x 2GB GPUs on one PCI-E board.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    812
    Quote Originally Posted by Gavin Greenwalt View Post
    GTX 680 CUDA performance is currently atrocious. I would wait to see what NVidia does in the next couple months.

    Also be careful. It's RAM per *GPU* Lots of 4GB cards are actually 2x 2GB GPUs on one PCI-E board.
    Where did you read that about CUDA performance? Is it lower than the GTX-580's?

    I hope nVidia is not dumbing down CUDA now, like they did with opengl (nVidia throttled many open gl calls so that a GTX-285 will run 10 times faster than a GTX-580 as they want to keep the monopoly of selling the profitable but less powerful Quadro - which they don't license to other vendors. I wouldn't be surprised if they throttle every graphic program that is not a game now).

    I know exactly what you're talking about with the VRAM, I had to return a GTX-590 when I figured out I was actually getting LESS VRAM with 3GB than on my old GTX-285 with 2GB. I have yet to be able to install any recent drivers with my GTX-580, dealing with nVidia has been a very bad experience as of late).

    Edit: I'll have to read further, but it looks like if it's gaming you want, the 680 is cool. If you want computing (CUDA or DirectX), as needed for Premiere/AD, it flops. My 580 is way faster:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5699/n...-680-review/17

    But, interested if there are any benchmarks you've come across for Premiere/AE?
    Last edited by Les C.; 04-01-2012 at 09:53 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    1,258
    Quote Originally Posted by Gavin Greenwalt View Post
    GTX 680 CUDA performance is currently atrocious. I would wait to see what NVidia does in the next couple months.

    Also be careful. It's RAM per *GPU* Lots of 4GB cards are actually 2x 2GB GPUs on one PCI-E board.
    Yes, but we should wait for benchmarks anyway. GTX 680's FP32 / single-precision performance is way up, nearly double over GTX 580. I don't know what kind of computation Premiere Pro's MPE requires, but my guess is it being heavily single-precision. Not sure if there are any double-precision 64-bit FP operations, those are the ones that are massively crippled and used for many of the CUDA/OpenCL/DirectCompute benchmarks we have seen thus far.

    The good news is that GTX 580s are dropping in price drastically, 1.5 GB is available at $350, 3GB can be had for ~$450. It's a tried and tested solution and with it your bottlenecks are most likely going to lie elsewhere - for R3D work the bottleneck is certainly in the CPU decompression / debayer.

    Memory becomes crucial as your resolution increases. If your timeline and footage is 4K+, 2GB could be a bottleneck.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Todd Kopriva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    143
    See this post (especially the part toward the end) for details about how CUDA processing is related to VRAM and frame size:
    http://blogs.adobe.com/premiereprotr..._premiere.html
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts