Thread: Answering your hardware questions!

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21  
    Senior Member albert rudnicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto-Montreal
    Posts
    1,553
    Thank you Jeff !
    I 'll try first the adapter cable, my macpro is not overloaded with power hungry cards.
    Any idea where I can get the adapter?
    If that doesn't work, I think I am going to get combo quadro and sale my 285.
    Cubix is really expensive...

    thanks again



    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Kilgroe View Post
    Albert, it is possible, but a real pain in the ass. You will need to come up with an additional power lead. Easiest solution is to tie onto the molex in the lower optical bay, however you may have issues with that depending on if you have a device there already and how much power it consumes. You may need to add a buffering cable rather than a straight adapter cable. I tried this exact configuration in an '09 Mac Pro and couldn't get power right without using a buffering cable (hard to find off the shelf) and under peak load I would experience fall-offs or insufficient power since I was also using the power lead to that optical bay to run a 7200rpm 1TB HDD. I was leaving the two onboard PCIe power leads connected to the GTX285 and pulling additional power for the Quadro, as it only requires one.

    If you want my thoughts on it, I would say spend the extra bit and replace both of your video cards with dual Quadro 4000's. Or get a PCIe expansion box and move the GTX285 out of the main tower for use as your accelerator in Resolve.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Quote Originally Posted by Elsie N View Post
    All good options, but I think anything involving USB 2.0 is going to put me in jeopardy of having to wait for the SSD to be offloaded.
    I agree. But the solution you were talking about above involving copying to the system, then copying out isn't going to be any faster. My numbers were representative of using a "fast" drive like the 7200rpm Momentus.

    I'm not sure about supporting port multipliers but yes, my card is a dual port SIIG Expresscard 54 RAID Pro, I think. I was not aware you could use the ports as an input and output at the same time. I've only used them as a RAID 0. This would be a VERY good thing if that will in fact work.
    I have never used that specific card. But I would be completely shocked if it did not allow you to attach two individual SATA devices and use them independently.

    How do I find out if it will support port multipliers?
    RTFM? Actually if it has dual ports, then chances are it is multiplier-based anyway, most of the dual-port ExpressCards are using a multiplier. That being the case, you already have two ports and shouldn't need an additional multiplier cable or similar. You usually will not want to double-up on multipliers, that's when bad things happen.
    - Jeff Kilgroe
    - Applied Visual Technologies, LLC | RojoMojo
    - Weaponized Dragon for hire. 8K available... "soon"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Hello All,
    I've been looking into getting a new MacBook Pro for the company I work for. Price isn't really an issue, so I'm going with the 17" to get the express slot. My only question now is whether to go 750GB HDD or 500GB SSD. I've heard issues with the SSD having slower write speed over time and a limited number of writes. I've also heard "limited number of writes" means 40 years worth of constant writing. The computer would be mainly used for on-set media management. The company workflow consists of downloading Red footage directly to the laptop hard drive first. Which would allow me to have the fastest and most reliable transfer from Red CF card/SSD card to my laptop hard drive?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member Blair S. Paulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    4,464
    Interesting to see the love for dumping camera data to internal laptop drives. If you absolutely have to have the most minimal download footprint possible then I guess it makes sense, but like Jeff I just see more copy steps in your future. This leads to more opportunity for errors as copies are made of copies, more human interaction required, ...

    My suggestion for laptop based field backup strategies is to use bus powered drives and a dual port eSATA adapter. If you're comfortable with using bare drives, RED has a 2.5 RED station which stacks neatly with the 1.8 RED station that reads the SSDs - slick. Cheaper 3rd party enclosures are available as well but if you can swing the $250 for the RED version it is solidly made, has proper heats sinks and should hold up well in the field. YMMV.

    Cheers - #19
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member Jean Wallez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Marseille-France
    Posts
    431
    My suggestion for laptop based field backup strategies is to use bus powered drives and a dual port eSATA adapter.
    Is it possible to do backups from an 1.8 e-sata redstation(bus powered : usb?) to 2 e-sata (bus powered : usb?) 2.5 drives with R3Ddatamanager on an only battery powered laptop?
    http://planb-red.com
    Red Weapon camera rental
    Location caméra Red Weapon
    Marseille
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Quote Originally Posted by MacGuffin Films View Post
    Hello All,
    I've been looking into getting a new MacBook Pro for the company I work for. Price isn't really an issue, so I'm going with the 17" to get the express slot. My only question now is whether to go 750GB HDD or 500GB SSD. I've heard issues with the SSD having slower write speed over time and a limited number of writes. I've also heard "limited number of writes" means 40 years worth of constant writing. The computer would be mainly used for on-set media management. The company workflow consists of downloading Red footage directly to the laptop hard drive first. Which would allow me to have the fastest and most reliable transfer from Red CF card/SSD card to my laptop hard drive?
    You guys trying to copy to the laptop HDD first, then re-copy to another drive are nuts. Why? Serious question, I gotta know, because there's no rational explanation as to why anyone would choose to do this. Extra user interaction required, means more potential for error. Additional generational copies means more room for error unless you create a verified checksum on the first copy and continue verification through the process. Now you're taking a heck of a lot longer to make the copies. In any serious work environment with lots of media being cycled, this workflow is not going to keep up. So yeah, color me confused on this one. If price isn't really an issue, then there's no reason for this. If it's "the company workflow", it might be time to find out who at the company dictates workflow policy and have them try to explain this one. I can think of plenty of reasons to not do it this way and can't think of absolutely zero reasons to do it this way.

    OK, highly-opinionated rant mode off now...

    As for the question of HDD vs. SSD, I recommend the 750GB HDD. Plain and simple, the SSD's just don't offer the price to performance ratio. Write times are about 30% faster than the HDD on average, sometimes they peak or burst faster, but 30% is a good rule of thumb here. And they begin to drastically slow down as the SSD fills up. In fact, by the time you're operating at 90% capacity, that HDD could very well be winning a speed race against the SSD. On the other hand, read times with the SSD are going to be nearly 3X as fast on average. And this remains mostly constant, no matter how full the SSD becomes.

    It's true that SSD's will wear down with repeated use, begin to degrade and slow down and will eventually die. Don't worry about it. The average number of cycles it takes to cause all this to happen is quite high. It's more an issue if you will be using SSD's in RAID configurations, but there are SSD's on the market that are made for that sort of thing. Realistically, an SSD will last about the same as a HDD. The real kicker is that either can die at any point in their life cycle for no apparent reason. AppleCare covers SSD and HDD crashes. Of course, if you don't have your data backed up, you're SOL. SSD's are more reliable in a sense that they don't have the moving parts (well, the gate cells of the FLASH nand chips technically move at a near-microscopic level, but that's a different story). They don't have the rapidly spinning platters and servo-driven magnetic heads that all can suffer from motion, vibration, etc.. while running. But an SSD is just as likely to suffer catastrophic failure as a hard drive... shit happens.

    I think your best bet would be to go for the HDD and get a nice ExpressCard 2.0 26Gbps eSATA adapter to use as well as a ThunderBolt HDD or RAID. You can connect a RED Station module or two with the eSATA card and you can offload to the ThunderBolt storage. It will be screaming fast and you don't have to do the whole copy to the onboard HDD and then copy elsewhere circle-jerk thing. Even ignoring ThunderBolt, a dual-port eSATA adapter will let you read from a RED Station module and write to an external HDD at about 200MB/s or so, if you buy the right adapter. Firewire 800 offload from the RED Station will get you close to 90MB/s read and that can go to eSATA output just fine too. If you're using a single 2.5" or 3.5" HDD as the target drive, that's going to be about as fast as they will average on their own anyway.

    Some aftermarket SSD's are faster. The OWC 6Gbps SSD's are excellent, and the OCZ Vertex3 as well as the Mushkin 6Gbps ones are great too. These units are scoring anywhere from 220 to 290 MB/s write times on uncompressible data (R3D, Zip, H264, etc..) as long as you don't run with them more than about 65% full. They're all fast enough to saturate the 6Gbps SATA host for read times on compressible data at almost 560MB/s. So something to consider there. The 480GB OWC Extreme Pro 6Gbps is arguably the best one out there right now and can top 480MB/s for uncompressible data reads. It's nearly $1200, though. You can buy a LOT of 7200rpm 750GB hard drives for that price. And as fast as it may be, it's still going to be slower to offload your data to it, then turn around and copy it again to another drive.


    Quote Originally Posted by Jean Wallez View Post
    Is it possible to do backups from an 1.8 e-sata redstation(bus powered : usb?) to 2 e-sata (bus powered : usb?) 2.5 drives with R3Ddatamanager on an only battery powered laptop?
    Yes. But it depends on the laptop and if its USB header(s) can handle powering that many devices properly. And there's a good bet you may run out of battery before you finish your transfers if you're powering a RED SSD reader plus two external hard drives. Many laptops can't fully power all USB ports unless you're connected to AC power. I'm also assuming that you will be only using the USB to provide power and will be attempting to use eSATA for the actual data connections -- FW800 can bus power as well and is obviously a lot faster for data - about 80% faster than USB2.
    - Jeff Kilgroe
    - Applied Visual Technologies, LLC | RojoMojo
    - Weaponized Dragon for hire. 8K available... "soon"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member Jean Wallez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Marseille-France
    Posts
    431
    I'm also assuming that you will be only using the USB to provide power and will be attempting to use eSATA for the actual data connections
    Yes.Ideal could be a laptop with one e-sata port,an Express card slot,a two e-sata port Express card,3 usb powering ports and a Vmount plate adaptation to power the system or one e-sata(for usb powered redstation) and 2 usb3 ports with 2.5 bus powered hdd?
    http://planb-red.com
    Red Weapon camera rental
    Location caméra Red Weapon
    Marseille
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    LA & NY
    Posts
    321
    Hey thanks for this thread and all the help! I was wondering if you had any input on the AMD Bulldozer chips? I'm putting together a little CS5.5 PC and am torn between going i7 or the FX-8150.

    Thanks again!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Macleod View Post
    Recently I decided to join Red User because I saw this section and though I might be able to help out...... I don't know to much about software (I know about application demands) or cameras but I do know quite a bit when it comes to computer hardware, be it a solid state hard drive or a full out custom built work station, I would be more then happy try to help you out with your computer questions!
    Hi Daniel,
    Thanks for your offer to help on computer hardware. When I get my hands on Scarlet I will also need to ensure I have my PC upgraded to decent capacity so that I will be able to take faster backups, do bit of basic editing and have a good screen/monitor to see the quality of film. Can you put forward a decent list of items for me to build one. Some of the systems I see by fellow members are mind bogling in specs and cost. I don't plan to build one that is studio capable unless it's a necessary. What would be the bare minimum cost of such a system ?

    Thanks in advance.

    Rajesh
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Can anyone recommend a two lane Expresscard eSATA adapter that plays nicely with the Red Station? I've read of issues with the Sonnet cards, which seem to be related to Lion.
    Caleb Heymann
    Cinematographer
    Local 600
    Epic X #247, K-35 and Zeiss lenses, and more
    www.calebheymann.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts