Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Audio Cable for Epic X

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40
  1. #11  
    Story Teller Brian Ferguson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    388
    Also since my Sanken CS1 short shotgun is phantom powered I have to use my 302 mixer to power it since the Epic doesn't have phantom power. I had to drop the output from the mixer to mic level (directions in the Sound Devices 302 PDF) which I had never done before. The results sounded great, it is a totally workable way to record audio on the Epic.

    BTW I would never use a mic without a preamp or mixer on the RED One or Epic unless I just wanted a nat sound track, it is controllable that way.
    Last edited by Brian Ferguson; 09-30-2011 at 01:03 PM. Reason: added comment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4,065
    Be careful guys - if / when Red enables phantom power on those TRS connectors, not all cables that work now, will necessarily work properly. Also power may flow where it shouldn't, potentially damaging certain types of microphone and/or the phantom power circuit in the camera.

    I think anything that gets plugged in there should ideally be correctly wired for balanced audio, and phantom power compatible, to be safe.

    [Edit - the Epic phantom power will probably have to have built-in short circuit protection as the TRS connector is inherently likely to be short circuited when being connected/disconnected - but it would still be sensible to use correct balanced cabling and mics]
    Director/Digital Camera Operator/2nd AC/DIT/Data Manager
    London, UK.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Member David Fairbanks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    94
    While the manual says that it will take balanced or unbalanced audio via the front connectors, apparently they were having problems with people using the wrong cables. So the current version only works with unbalanced.
    The trick is to know what button to push when.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member Jonathan Stevenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,673
    Quote Originally Posted by David Fairbanks View Post
    While the manual says that it will take balanced or unbalanced audio via the front connectors, apparently they were having problems with people using the wrong cables. So the current version only works with unbalanced.
    1.7.9 gives you the balanced option.
    -------------
    Epic-X #105 DRAGON
    Movi M10 Stabilizer AVAILABLE NOW
    My Reel, Gear List & Rates
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Story Teller Brian Ferguson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    388
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan Stevenson View Post
    1.7.9 gives you the balanced option.
    Makes me wonder if the pin-outs are still the same for the cables? Should be.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member Steve Wake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    386
    I looked at the menu map and the manual and it still looks like phantom power is disabled.

    I'd also like to see the pinout for the front audio jack when set to unbalanced. Specifically, is the ring "NC" no connection when the jack is set to unbalanced?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    163
    So it's early adopter R1 all over again. Well I'm used to it by now.
    Sure would be nice with all the critical information in one place. Maybe like a yes/no diagram that telephone support people use:)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member Erwin van Dijck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
    Posts
    202
    Quote Originally Posted by R. Schorman View Post

    We make an adapter box that will adapt balanced XLR microphones and line-in to Epics mini TRS connectors. You can see it here: http://x.com/store

    Ryan
    That A-box looks like a great solution. Do you also have something like that to mount directly on a cheese plate instead of 19mm bars?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    210
    Quote Originally Posted by Erwin van Dijck View Post
    That A-box looks like a great solution. Do you also have something like that to mount directly on a cheese plate instead of 19mm bars?
    +1 I imagine I'll be using the Epic handheld sometimes just using the Side Handle. Is there any way to mount the A-box without rails?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    764
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Shephard View Post
    +1 I imagine I'll be using the Epic handheld sometimes just using the Side Handle. Is there any way to mount the A-box without rails?
    It comes with a bolt-on rod that works with any 1/4-20 hole (there's some on the top of the Epic).
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts