Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: RED CODE

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1 RED CODE 
    Senior Member Jean Guerra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dominican Republic, Santo Domingo
    Posts
    404
    please explain what the RED CODE is??? i am reading the epic manual but i didnt find what is the red code?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Johnny Friday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    La Paz, Baja Ca. Sur, Mexico
    Posts
    3,348
    Ah HA! .......we would ALL like to know what is redcode--how was it made? how many ions were added vs crystals--the competition would love to know this eh?...but in simplistic terms i think it is just the secret sauce that will be explained generically as a type of compression codec that was sprinkled in the RED / EPIC and that's it.....secret of RED no?
    John Friday
    La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
    www.bajaproductions.com

    RED UNDERWATER 2D & 3D
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Jean Guerra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dominican Republic, Santo Domingo
    Posts
    404
    but is that the quality?? for example am reading that the epic comes with a preset of 1/8 red code? should i change it or what??? which one is better or higher quality???
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Johnny Friday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    La Paz, Baja Ca. Sur, Mexico
    Posts
    3,348
    YES! Redcode is SELECTABLE.....so, a setting of say 16:1 vs. 8:1....go with the lower value if you want higher quality...a bit different from RED ONE....RC 36 is better than RC 28....
    John Friday
    La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
    www.bajaproductions.com

    RED UNDERWATER 2D & 3D
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #5  
    Red Leader Jannard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8,257
    REDCODE is our proprietary compressed RAW format (thanks to Graeme). It is capable of variable compression ratios. The lower the ratio (3:1) the less compression there is and the higher the quality. Conversly, the higher the ratio (20:1) the more possible artifacts you might see.

    With an EPIC, most have found 5:1 or 6:1 to be the perfect balance between image quality and data rates. Most all of the largest budget features are being shot with either 5:1 or 6:1.

    Now... as your frame rates go up, technically the camera can still shoot low compression ratios. But... the media cannot yet handle the higher data rates. So if you select 5K 2.40:1 at 120fps, you will be forced to shoot REDCODE 12:1 due to the limitation of the SSDs. As time goes on that will change (as does everything).

    Jim
    "The camera is arguably one of the most important of all inventions… it is the single tool that has the ability to stop time, record history, generate art, tell stories, and communicate messages that transcend language like nothing else ever conceived."

    "Everything in life changes... including our camera specs and delivery dates..."

    We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone with a bad attitude.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Johnny Friday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    La Paz, Baja Ca. Sur, Mexico
    Posts
    3,348
    Yes....shot up to 16:1 @ 2.4:1 and looked GREAT....images---or frame grabs:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/redcine...7627064303251/

    Video coming next...uploading now. with Nikon 18-200 lens
    John Friday
    La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
    www.bajaproductions.com

    RED UNDERWATER 2D & 3D
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    REDuser Sponsor Martin Stevens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,865
    Hoe does one choose between 12-bit and 16-bit recording?

    I could not find this in the Epic Manual. Perhaps I am mistaken about this feature.

    Is the Epic-X natively a 16-bit camera, or is it just in Redcine-X that you can output
    16-bit files?
    Regards,
    Martin Stevens

    President and Founder of Glidecam Industries, Inc.
    Producer and Director at Metaphoric Pictures Corporation.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    2,632
    With the right distribution of bits you can squeeze it very well into 12 bit. 16 bit is only needed if the image is stored linear – and it's wasting space, since humans don't perceive light that way.

    Natively, BTW, RED is not a digital camera at all: all sensors are analog devices measuring incoming light. Measured values are converted into digital numbers by an A/D-converter after that. I don't know if RED mentioned the width of that conversion somewhere, but rest assured: with good distribution of the values even 10 bit can hold a lot of DR, and with 12 bit you can make the beautiful images generated by a RED which we can now see on many cine screens all over the planet!
    Regards,

    Uli

    My Red is called Vertov after a Russian avantgarde filmmaker, a pioneer in modern cinematography, a true revolutionary who later suffered under Stalin's bureaucracy.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Eric Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    529
    Here's a nice summary of data-rates that I made.
    I hope I got it right, Mr Jannard.



    Click the image twice to see it clearly at 100%.
    Last edited by Eric Z; 07-25-2011 at 02:30 AM.
    "Don't under-estimate the amateur photographer. The latest HW & SW empower him to achieve results just as good as yours".
    Nothing beats a Master Prime!
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H, 24GB RAM, i5-3570K, Intel 520 120GB SSD - Win7 Pro SP1 x64, Dell U2713H 27" 10bit @ 2560x1440@60Hz (via miniDP).
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #10  
    Red Team Deanan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3,847
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Z View Post
    Here's a nice summary of data-rates that I made.
    I hope I got it right, Mr Jannard.



    Click the image twice to see it clearly at 100%.
    BTW, 5K FF is 96fps max.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts