Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Ballooning Data Rates and Crippling Workflow

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Ballooning Data Rates and Crippling Workflow 
    I was just on a job with two MX cameras shooting 4KHD RC42. The nature of the show required long takes, which naturally inflated file size. Running on a 2.8 GHZ MacBook Pro w/ a FW800 express card adapter I had three destination drives. Two were connected directly to the FW800 adapter, and the third was daisy chained behind one of those direct drives. The RED RAIDs were being connected directly to the MacBook's FW800 port.

Being a diligent data manager I began using R3D Data Manager to ingest the footage, but the combination of daisy chained drives and steep shooting ratio I began to get backed up (on a side note - R3D used to be so much faster, two upgrades ago it suddenly took 30% longer to dump - what happened?). Anyways, when pushed to the point of running out of media to hand the ACs I switched over to ShotPut Pro which allowed me to make up some time (I'm well aware of the pitfalls of ShotPut, and whenever using it I'm sure to watch all the footage to verify integrity).

All day it was a struggle to catch up, and at end of day required an additional 3 hours to transfer the rest of the footage. The question I pose is this: with data rates growing every build (which is great for image quality) what's a data manager to do? I'd use eSata for the destination drives but if you're limited to FW800 out of the RED RAID isn't it a moot point? Daisy chaining with eSata makes sense I suppose to boost speed between the two...or does it? Can anyone shed any light on that?