Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: What is Windowed Sensor ?

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 Need more detail about Windowed Sensor ? 
    Banned
    Hi All,

I am new to RED, new to this forum, newly make my reservation. And also a lot to learn from you all.

Just wonder what is "Windowed Sensor" ? I believe this would affect the choice of len we can use when shooting 2k or 720p, am I right ? Then in what aspect ?

And I am a bit confuse with the latest spec:

Frame Rates:
    Variable
    1 60 fps 2540p, 4K, 2K,1080p, 720p
    1 120 fps 2K, 720p (windowed sensor)
    50 / 59.94fps 1080i, 720p

Am I read this correctly that, shooting from 1 to 60 fps for 2k & 720p, the REDONE uses full sensor, but if I shoot from 61 to 120 fps, the REDONE will uses smaller size of the full sensor.

If this is the case, I wonder what is the size of that "windowed" sensor ? will it be 1 to 1 pixel (which means a very small area of the sensor will be used to record the stream, then the FOV will be so small for many big len, am I right ?).

I wonder whether RED team can make such windowed sensor as big as possible (best is depending on the frame-rate, higher fps then use smaller area of sensor while lower frame-rate such as 75 or 100 then use slightly bigger sensor area.

I wonder the use of "windowed" sensor is due to the processing power required to down-encoding vast image data from full sensor to a much smaller 720p & 2k.

I am in very tight budget and probably can only use some 35mm SLR Nikon prime len for my work, but if the windowed-sensor mean I will have smaller FOV, this would make a lot of restriction in composition.

Sorry if I read it wrong (and I hope I am wrong), please enlight.

And thanksss~ :)

windowed for 720p would = it only uses 1280x720 pixels (of the 4k sensor) to record image ...