Thread: Create H264s from R3Ds

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 Create H264s from R3Ds 
    Needing to create files for clients direct from R3Ds, that they can view and work with, and they aren't professionals so that means not ProRes. Ideally 1920x1080 H.264 or MP4. Use to be easy in RedcineX but seems not an option since upgrading OS and RedcineX. Anyone have thought on fast workflow? Thanks
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    California
    Posts
    28
    You should be able to batch edit all of them in media encoder
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9,289
    C.B. Lorch


    What do you mean by not professional? They have an under-spec'd computer that can't playback ProRes Files? They have a low-end Editor program that doesn't support ProRes? Between ProRes 1080P and H.264 1080P files, The ProRes file should playback the smoothest and on most systems. The ProRes File would also have a higher quality image that could be pushed the furthest in post.


    You could playback the files outside of an NLE on a free program like VLC Player.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Brendan H. Banks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    916
    Batch them up in Resolve or Media encoder (The free Resolve should be fine).

    Bummer about their quality threshold. Make sure you are charging for the transcode. It takes up your time, uses your equipment, and also quite literally your resources (power draw, harddrive space, etc).
    Brendan H. Banks
    Cinematographer
    Local 600 IATSE

    DSMC2 Gemini #796
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,025
    Quote Originally Posted by rand thompson View Post
    They have a low-end Editor program that doesn't support ProRes? Between ProRes 1080P and H.264 1080P files, The ProRes file should playback the smoothest and on most systems. The ProRes File would also have a higher quality image that could be pushed the furthest in post.
    This isn't entirely correct, though ProRes is generally well optimized, generally a low bitrate H.264 file is the easiest on all sorts of entry level hardware, phones, tablets, etc... As well as the file sizes being significantly smaller than even ProRes LT.

    Quality-wise though, yes, ProRes is superior in every way essentially.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Not everyone who needs to work creating video content is an editor. For people who just need to review the footage and have ideas on what is important to use in an edit, I just place all the R3D clips on one timeline and render out a single long MP4 file. That way they can see all the footage and make notes, like use CU at 12:03. They can just reference the time in whatever player they view the files with. Then you can just go back to the all clips timeline and grab the needed R3Ds to make an edit later from the time notes.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9,289
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    This isn't entirely correct, though ProRes is generally well optimized, generally a low bitrate H.264 file is the easiest on all sorts of entry level hardware, phones, tablets, etc... As well as the file sizes being significantly smaller than even ProRes LT.

    Quality-wise though, yes, ProRes is superior in every way essentially.
    I didn't think about phones and tablets, H .264 files would be the better solution in that case.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    65
    Check rewrap functionallity in KYNO (Lesspain software)! Also great tool for quick scan of footage! Powerfull tool!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    363
    we typicaly run out cleint screeners in h.264, burn in source code and filename, string out the day, some prefer sorted by source timestamp so A & B are back to back, others prefer to see all of Acam first, then b/C/whatevaCam - ask the client, all about salt and pepper to taste

    but haveing source code and filename burnt in is pretty important to refrence a shot with the lowest possiable pain
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    65
    Kyno can burn in timecode, but does not have the option for burning in the filename, yet.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts