Thread: Frame Guides Carrying through into Different Post Software

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1 Frame Guides Carrying through into Different Post Software 
    Member Shawn Seifert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    49
    Hey Everyone,

    I'm struggling to have post software (in this case, Premier Pro and Resolve) see the frame guides that are imbedded into the .r3d files. Redcine-x is seeing them fine. Throughout the shoot, the frame guides will occasionally be changing thus I need that information to show up for our editor and post team. Is this something that isn't possible? I always thought it was, but after all these years I guess this is the first time I'm actually putting it to the test.

    Thanks Everyone!
    Shawn Seifert
    Fair & Square Media
    Red Gemini & Red Epic-X
    Vancouver, BC
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7,954
    Shawn,

    do you have a sample clip with the guidelines in it that you can upload?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,879
    @shawn

    I made a tool this year called "frameAndFocus" that allows you to create a custom guide as a transparent PNG which can be used in any software package with footage from any camera/codec:

    http://phfx.com/tools/frameAndFocus/

    Just need to know what your dimensions are and you're good to go.

    Here's an example:

    http://phfx.com/tools/frameAndFocus/...0=%208192x4320
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Member Shawn Seifert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    49
    Here’s some example clips Rand

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ruzg92gw3...Bd8ZUu-pa?dl=0


    Thanks Phil. I’ll check out what you created and see if it will do the trick for us. .
    Shawn Seifert
    Fair & Square Media
    Red Gemini & Red Epic-X
    Vancouver, BC
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7,954
    Shawn,


    Unfortunately the "Framing Controls" in the last 3 versions of Redcine-X are not working properly. This would result in inaccurate crops and may be contributing to your issue as well. Resolve would only recognize Cropped non-raw file exports from Redcine-x like Prores, DNxHR...ect. I tried in Premiere Pro but their was nothing you could enable in the "Master" effects tab to bring in the crop markings.

    Phil's tool is probably going to be your best bet.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,376
    We generally tell clients to shoot an actual physical printed framing chart on set, and then keep that around as a reference during editing and final color so that we know it's being framed correctly. No matter what resolution you're shooting at, the aspect ratio should match whatever is in the viewfinder.



    The Arri chart generator is free and available at this link:

    https://tools.arri.com/flt/

    Even if you shoot with a Red or a Sony or a Canon or a Blackmagic, it doesn't matter: the aspect ratio is the aspect ratio.
    marc wielage, csi • colorist/post consultant • daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Member Shawn Seifert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    49
    Thanks everyone for the help/advice.

    Just to clarify for everyone a few things.
    Normally, on these projects (which are MOWs btw) I've shot 5kHD on our Geminis. The problem with this is 5kHD with look around enabled doesn't give you any look around on the top or bottom. Only side to side. An issue for Sound department with the boom mic and such.

    So my solution was to shoot on the full sensor (5k 1.7:1) and then have several different frame guides set up as hot keys for operators to choose from depending on the lens and how well it covers the larger sensor. Some of our lenses vignette until we window down to 4.5k. I was able to make this all happen inside the camera just fine. I set up three different 16:9 guides sizes ranging from 5k down to 4.5k then set them up as presents that are applied with a single clip of a button. NO big deal at all. I can open these clips in Redcine-x and turn on the frame guides and it sees them. But I gather, from everyone's comments, that no other post software can actual see these guides nor use them. Is that correct?
    Shawn Seifert
    Fair & Square Media
    Red Gemini & Red Epic-X
    Vancouver, BC
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7,954
    Shawn,

    If you don't mind using cropped ProRes 4444XQ files, the latest Beta version of Redcine-X Pro seems to have fixed the framing issues, you can just export the cropped file, when using the "Frame Control" tool in Redcine-X, out .

    Redcine-X Pro Beta VERSION 52.2.49911
    https://www.red.com/download/redcine-x-pro-win-beta

    In Redcine-X Pro








    In Resolve






    Premiere Pro






    Redcine-X



    Resolve



    Premiere Pro

    Last edited by rand thompson; 09-12-2020 at 07:24 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7,954
    Shawn,


    When I used your R3D frame grabs with the frame guides embedded in them and exported the frames as .TIFF files "Cropped" in the "Export" tab, They came into Resolve correctly.

    Redcine-X














    Resolve














    5120X2880


    5000x2812


    4800x2700

    Last edited by rand thompson; 09-12-2020 at 09:49 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Digital FX Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,116
    unless I misunderstand your question...the frame line you see in camera are not in the r3d file, .they are just an overlay produced in camera. If you are trying to match what you see on set in post, shooting a chart is the best method as Marc suggested.
    www.digitalfx.tv

    Twitter
    Instagram

    RED One #83
    RED CF Monstro 8K VV
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts