Thread: Why do you choose to shoot and own RED?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Why do you choose to shoot and own RED? 
    Hey, Y'all!

I asked a similar question on Reddit 2 weeks back "Why do you love the image from the camera you shoot with"
    I got some good responses but also quite a few just quoting Steve Yedlins Display prep how technically any camera can look like any camera and camera doesn't matter, and the story is what matters, it's just a tool bla bla..

I really wanted to ask this question here with the RED community because I'm looking to go RED this Year because I love the Image of the Komodo, but I don't really understand why I do... And RED's are widely owned cameras so I want to ask why you shoot RED.

I've been shooting with Sony, FS7, A7SII & now FX9 for 3-5 years and it's such an impressive image in so many ways but after seeing the Komodo I've fallen in love with RED's image again and It feels like such a nicer image, much more organic more Dynamic range, better colors... I'm tired of treating Sony images in Post to get an Image I find more Pleasing.
    But as you talk about Dynamic range Specs especially usable Dynamic range I find everything falls into the same numbers, 13 Stops, or 14 Stops... I mean Alexa has 14 1/2 Stops.
    The Komodo currently tested at least by Brian Nguyen to have 13 Stops of what he considers usable Stops and with the A7SIII also having 13 stops of usable range by Gerald Undone... It makes me a question... why the heck do I still like the Komodo over all the A7SIII footage I've seen.

Why do you Shoot RED? Why do you own RED? Why is RED more pleasing to some over an A7SIII or even FX9.

Cheers Everyone
    -Samuel

For me, without getting technical, let's start with this...

Red versus other Cameras:
    - R3d codec (great compression of raw files - keeps the size low)