Thread: Gemini vs Dragon X 6k

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. #1 Gemini vs Dragon-X 6k 
    Trying to decide between the Red Gemini or Dragon-x 6k sensor. I really like the extra light sensitivity of the Gemini, however Dragon-x 6k is $5,000 cheaper and more resolution for re-framing. Does anyone have side by side comparison of the Gemini and Dragon-X with IPP-2? How is the low light performance on the Dragon-X? Dynamic range vs the Gemini? I'm looking specifically for color, noise and dynamic range difference between the two.

Any help would be massively appreciated, I've been doing research for a couple months now. Once the sensor is decided i'm going to pull the trigger.
    Last edited by Brendan Higgins; 09-04-2020 at 12:16 AM.

I’d go Gemini definitely. It’s much cleaner in lower sensor area even on iso 800 (-5 looks as clean as -2 on Dragon), what makes the DR much more usable. Otherwise it’s a matter of taste between the sensors.

Both good, I prefer the Gemini.

Nick

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Lubensky View Post
    Id go Gemini definitely. Its much cleaner in lower sensor area even on iso 800 (-5 looks as clean as -2 on Dragon), what makes the DR much more usable. Otherwise its a matter of taste between the sensors.
    Thank you for the input, how does Dragon-x compare to Helium? Some of the low light tests I've seen with Helium seems very impressive.

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Gardner View Post
    Both good, I prefer the Gemini.

Nick
    Any particular reason why?

Thanks!

I'd personally go with Dragon X. As a current SW owner I have a Canon C200 for when I need to shoot in uncontrolled low light environments. Now if I'm shooting on a controlled set for a dimly lit scene I don't know why anyone is shooting over the lowest possible ISO on any camera, including RED.