Thread: The First Komodo Out in the Wild

Reply to Thread
Page 32 of 45 FirstFirst ... 2228293031323334353642 ... LastLast
Results 311 to 320 of 445
  1. #311  
    Senior Member luigivaltulini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Switzerland- LUGANO
    Posts
    2,522
    R3d Still RED KOMODOO from KippertieLtd.
    ;)

    download here:
    http://vpn.cine5k.red/s/QzYSbFagbsjwNgP
    Grading Suite Davinci Resolve, Rental RED Digital camera.
    MONSTRO 8k CF #831 "BLACK PEARL" , EPIC-W GEMINI # "DAFNE".
    ARRI ALEXA EV , ALEXA MINI LF "ROZI"


    SITE
    www.cine5k.ch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #312  
    Why these stills look to me oversharp, but if you zoom in it looks soft and out of focus ? The same with the footage of Phill
    https://ibb.co/wKk8tFM
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #313  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by Bastien Tribalat View Post
    Seems to me that MQ is more like 4:1 which is why I think the difference between HQ and MQ is not significant enough... But then I remember I come from a cinema school where we shot on film (I graduated in 2011) and on a standard film mag you only get a few minutes of footage (if I remember correctly a 400 feet roll gets you around 10 minutes in 16mm and around 4-ish in 35) so I guess 10 more minutes of footage can do a lot :)
    But I think it was mentioned somewhere (maybe in the livestream?) MQ was like 5-6:1 ?
    I agree MQ at 4:1 would be too close to HQ. RED used to recommend as a good starting point to shoot your resolution (K:1) as compression ratio which indeed works great as a ratio. 6K sensor = 6:1

    I'd be very surprised if HQ was 2-3:1, MQ 4:1 and then LQ ?
    If that's the case then I'll be missing the choice of ratios very much. Love the flexibility to dial in whatever ratio you want, especially if you've tested a lot of those and know which ones work well in certain scenarios...

    Perhaps they should consider an "advanced mode" where you can dial in whatever ratio you want and with the simplified HQ MQ LQ by default for others who like simplicity...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #314  
    Senior Member John Marchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Normandy, England
    Posts
    2,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Yiorgos Doukanaris View Post
    Why these stills look to me oversharp, but if you zoom in it looks soft and out of focus ? The same with the footage of Phill
    https://ibb.co/wKk8tFM
    I would suggest this is simply that you are pixel peeping a 6K S35 image. The limits of the optics will be very apparent IMO, when viewed zoomed in. When zoomed out you get the benefit of everything the lens can do for the entire picture, so the apparent sharp was is high.
    KipperTie - Authorised RED Rental, Pinewood Studios, UK
    Ready to hire: Monstro 8K VV | Gemini 5K | Helium Monochrome 8K
    Check out our Revolva ND solution, OLPFs and other products
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #315  
    Senior Member Bastien Tribalat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cannes area, France
    Posts
    795
    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielB View Post
    But I think it was mentioned somewhere (maybe in the livestream?) MQ was like 5-6:1 ?
    I agree MQ at 4:1 would be too close to HQ. RED used to recommend as a good starting point to shoot your resolution (K:1) as compression ratio which indeed works great as a ratio. 6K sensor = 6:1

    I'd be very surprised if HQ was 2-3:1, MQ 4:1 and then LQ ?
    If that's the case then I'll be missing the choice of ratios very much. Love the flexibility to dial in whatever ratio you want, especially if you've tested a lot of those and know which ones work well in certain scenarios...

    Perhaps they should consider an "advanced mode" where you can dial in whatever ratio you want and with the simplified HQ MQ LQ by default for others who like simplicity...
    I don't know I guessed based on the recording time calculator on red.com. But since in this tool I used the Weapon CF Dragon in 6K Full Format 24 fps as a reference. It gives me roughly 67 minutes in Redcode 3:1 and 89 in Redcode 4:1 and from that I extrapolated :p
    (so it is obviously not accurate at all)
    VIDEO EDITING - COLOR GRADING - VFX
    APPLE FINAL CUT PRO, AVID MEDIA COMPOSER
    ADOBE CREATIVE CLOUD, DAVINCI RESOLVE, REDCINE X PRO...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #316  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9,176
    KipperTie images different white balance









    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #317  
    Senior Member Patrick Tresch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland, Lausanne
    Posts
    5,340
    Anybody knows why the Komodo files are offline in RCX when I import them?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #318  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,274
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Tresch View Post
    Anybody knows why the Komodo files are offline in RCX when I import them?
    Only the latest version supports them.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #319  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Marseille, FR
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Bastien Tribalat View Post
    Seems to me that MQ is more like 4:1 which is why I think the difference between HQ and MQ is not significant enough... But then I remember I come from a cinema school where we shot on film (I graduated in 2011) and on a standard film mag you only get a few minutes of footage (if I remember correctly a 400 feet roll gets you around 10 minutes in 16mm and around 4-ish in 35) so I guess 10 more minutes of footage can do a lot :)
    Lycée Carnot Bastien ?
    Sylvain Morjane - Cinematographer - Marseille
    ________________________________
    www.celluloidlabs.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #320  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Tresch View Post
    Anybody knows why the Komodo files are offline in RCX when I import them?
    Patrick,

    like David said, use the latest Redcine-X Pro Version 52.0.49422


    Redcine-X Pro

    Mac Version 52.0.49422 5/14/2020

    https://www.red.com/download/redcine-x-pro-mac

    Windows Version 52.0.49422 5/14/2020

    https://www.red.com/download/redcine-x-pro-win
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts