Thread: My Redcode looks crap in Resolve.

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 My Redcode looks crap in Resolve. 
    Hey,
    There's a bit of an annoying thing which I haven't been able to work out. When I shoot Redcode and open the files in Red Player on my computer they look really beautiful, nicely saturated and contrasty. I then bring them into the media pool in resolve and they don't look nearly so good. It's fairly subtle but they're flatter and less saturated and have lost their lovely threedimentionallity (if that's a word). When I then grade them in Resolve, really I'm trying get back what they look like in RED Player, it's kind of exasperating. It probably goes without saying that I'm not an expert in resolve or colour grading.

The screenshots attached are of a clip I shot at 4:1 compression on RED Dragon X 6K. I shot in Redcolor 2, Redgamma 2. I simply opened the clip in resolve and set the RAW profile to RED and 'decode using camera metadata'. The first is a screen grab of the clip opened in RED player and the second, the same clip opened in Resolve.

I've messed around with many combinations of settings and basically can never get it as nice looking as it looks strait out of the camera in RED Player:) I have a distinct feeling that I'm missing something very simple!! Any insights well appreciated.
    Attached Images

Giles,

Do you have a R3D frame or short R3D video file we can examine in a Resolve Workflow? Also your Resolve Project Settings.

Color management (or lack thereof) is probably biting you in the ass. The editor for Linus Tech Tips (10M+ subscribers) did an hour-long video on just how many ways you can screw yourself because the media, application, GUI, operating system, GPU, drivers, and monitor are each trying to Do The Right Thing. See https://youtu.be/QPubgoqtfbk
    Michael Tiemann, Chapel Hill NC

"Dream so big you can share!"