Thread: Release of DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1 Studio

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 Release of DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1 Studio 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    449
    We are pleased to announce the release of DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1 Studio which improves performance and addresses a few issues based on customer feedback. Thank you for your feedback and especially to those who have the preferences option to auto report issues and check for updates.

    This is a no charge update for existing customers who can download this release from
    https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/sup...lve-and-fusion

    We recommend that you back up all active databases and current projects before upgrading to this release and encourage you to update your v16 systems to v16.2.1.

    What's new in DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1

    • Support for decoding H.265 4:4:4 12-bit on supported NVIDIA GPUs.
    • Support for encoding H.265 4:4:4 10-bit on supported NVIDIA GPUs.
    • Support for encoding 32 bit float audio in QuickTime clips.
    • Support for trimming QuickTime audio clips during media management.
    • Support for Metal based R3D decode with the RED 7.3 RC SDK.
    • Support for double clicking drp files in Windows and Linux.
    • Support for performing open with on FCP7 XML files on Windows.
    • Improved decode support of H.265 4:4:4 clips up to 10-bit.
    • Improved performance with ProRes clips on high end CPUs.
    • Improved performance with DNxHR clips on high end CPUs.
    • Improved playback performance with compressed OpenEXR clips.
    • Improved performance for Dolby Vision analysis.
    • Improved stability on Windows systems with Intel graphics.
    • Addressed an issue with clean feed previews in Mac 10.15.4.
    • Addressed an issue with decoding phone camera clips with AAC audio.
    • Addressed an issue with truncated node labels on some displays.
    • Addressed issues with HDR tone mapping when using adjustment layers.
    • Addressed an issue with the sync bin work working with an empty timeline.
    • Addressed an issue with transitions when dragging clips across timelines.
    • Multiple performance and stability improvements.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,974
    Well hello! 😎

    Any word on the Metal GPU requirements?
    Last edited by Mike P.; 04-20-2020 at 09:45 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,834
    Thank you Peter!! and long time no hear!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,150
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Chamberlain View Post
    Support for Metal based R3D decode with the RED 7.3 RC SDK.
    Great news for my Apple friends!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Bastian Meier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    297
    there is also a post from jarred regarding the update:
    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...ration-(-Mac-)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,974
    Ugh, I gotta download MacOS update first and I'm on really slow internet.

    Can anyone confirm that this is giving a boost on any MBPs?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,214
    Installed Resolve Studio v.16.2.1 and found 8K 6:5 2xANA R3D's started getting imported into Resolve with a 'Cinemascope' Pixel Aspect Ratio instead of a 'Square' Pixel Aspect Ratio.

    This resulted in the image being zoomed in .5 on the X-axis when displayed on a timeline setup for the same kind of clips that were previously importing with a Square Pixel Aspect Ratio.

    I rolled back to the previous version of Resolve Studio (v.16.2.0.054) and didn't change any Project Settings, but the 'problem' persists.

    Is there user-accessible setting that changes which Pixel Aspect Ratio Resolve applies to clips when importing them?

    As a work-around, I can keep the current timeline settings and manually change the pixel aspect ratio of the new clips to 'Square' after importing them, or change the current timeline settings so the newly imported 'Cinemascope Pixel Aspect Ratio' clips display properly and then re-import the old clips and have them come in with a 'Cinemascope' instead of 'Square' Pixel Aspect Ratio, as that's what happens when I re-import clips that already came in with a 'Square Pixel Aspect Ratio' before (though that would also mean re-sizing titles...).

    But will I have to do this again if it turns out to be a bug that gets corrected in a newer version of Resolve?

    Anyone else seeing this?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member jake blackstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,912
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Hillis View Post
    Is there user-accessible setting that changes which Pixel Aspect Ratio Resolve applies to clips when importing them?
    Media pool/ select all clips you want to change the pixels ratio/ right click- Clip Attributes/ Square Pixels pull-down menu/OK
    Jake Blackstone
    Colorist
    Los Angeles
    MOD Color Web Site
    Demo Reel
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,214
    Thanks Jake, it's an easy enough fix to change the attributes after the clips are in Resolve, so no big deal.

    Just don't know why the clips used to import as 'Square' and are now importing as 'Cinemascope' and was wondering if there's a setting somewhere to control what Pixel Ratio gets applied as the clips are brought into Resolve.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Chamberlain View Post
    Support for Metal based R3D decode with the RED 7.3 RC SDK.
    Thanks!!
    This version saved me
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts