Thread: Blue and red dot on output files

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1 Blue and red dot on output files 
    Hey guys!

    I sometime have blue and red dots with crazy values all over my image after export from REDCINE-X.

    shot on DRAGON 6K (5K FF)


    here's my export settings


    Funny thing: I don't have them while exporting at 5K, only 2 and 4K.
    Thank you :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    It's getting worse on some footages..
    in REDCINE-X


    *.exr exported from redcine-x and loaded in NUKE
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    10,125
    Try Resolve
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,609
    Julian,


    First try using a 45 "DWA Compression Level" instead of 25 and see if that helps. The default for OpenEXR is usually 45. Plus where and how are you viewing this file?


    Also, do you have the latest version of Redcine-X

    https://www.red.com/download/redcine-x-pro-win


    Or the latest Beta version.

    https://www.red.com/download/redcine-x-pro-win-beta


    And the latest Driver for you OS and Graphics Card?


    Last edited by rand thompson; 04-12-2020 at 11:57 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,609
    What are your Nuke Settings


    I don't use Nuke but Here are some links that may help


    http://www.nukepedia.com/written-tut...-initial-setup


    http://www.nukepedia.com/written-tut...t-lut-settings


    Introduction and Setup of an ACES Workflow (Mari, Maya/Arnold, Nuke)


    The Nuke setup starts at the 7:27 minute Mark




    ACES OCIO Configs: https://github.com/hpd/OpenColorIO-Configs

    mmColorTarget: http://www.nukepedia.com/gizmos/colour/mmcolortarget



    You can also follow one of the links here

    https://m.youtube.com/results?search_query=Aces+in+Nuke
    Last edited by rand thompson; 04-12-2020 at 02:30 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    942
    Do you have any image effects going on (alchemy, unsharp, hp sharpen etc)? Levels, gamma? Turn them all off, reset everything to the defaults!
    Or switch ACES (Gamut Managed) to Full Graded (IPP2 Mode) at Exp. tab.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Bob Gundu: thanks but I need Nuke first.

    Rand thompson: Thanks for the links. I got my nuke well setup.
    I have all those crazy blue and red dots only when exporting *.exr: I tried *.dpx and it worked just fine (too bad we don't have "ACES gamut managed" with DPX.) That's really weird, I exported another footage (5k this time) without problem, what the heck is going on?

    Šabović Adis: I have no parameters checked. I only disabled the output tone map (contrast) by default. I reinstalled the latest (and beta) version of redcine-x and got the same result.

    Can someone try it on his computer please?
    Footage's here: https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/f...kqxbflevb7PDVt
    Last edited by Julian Dropsit; 04-13-2020 at 08:30 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Are you seeing artifacts of negative pixel values?

    See http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...=1#post1813920
    Michael Tiemann, Chapel Hill NC

    "Dream so big you can share!"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Michael Tiemann: thanks, but checked this option didn't change anything unfortunately.
    Last edited by Julian Dropsit; 04-13-2020 at 07:20 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,609
    Julian,


    I think I found your problem.


    When I exported the EXR out at the down-res resolution of 4096x2160 and brought it into an ACES workflow in Resolve, I got the same results as you did




    When I exported the EXR out at the Clips Resolution of 5120x2700 and brought it into an ACES workflow in Resolve, the 46 second clip played and looked fine


    Also, I put this in a 4096x2160 Resolve Project timeline









    Here it is at 3200 out of Redcine-X , plus noise reduction and some color correction in Resolve

    Last edited by rand thompson; 04-13-2020 at 06:58 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts