Thread: DSMC2 + Mixpre 3 II

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,210
    Looks like you've got it sorted out anyway, but just wanted to mention you could still record audio into your camera from the MixPre II's stereo out if you use one of these little timecode generators for syncing -

    http://tentaclesync.com/sync-e

    http://www.timecodesystems.com/product/ultrasync-one/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member David Callahan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    287
    Just received my MixPre3 II and noticed the TC input. Is there a cable that would take the the TC out of the DSMC II control port and send to the mixer? If so, I'd get the best of both worlds. Also, would be great if it would trigger recording on the unit as well.
    David Callahan
    Resolute Visuals
    www.resolutevisuals.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by David Callahan View Post
    Just received my MixPre3 II and noticed the TC input. Is there a cable that would take the the TC out of the DSMC II control port and send to the mixer? If so, I'd get the best of both worlds. Also, would be great if it would trigger recording on the unit as well.
    As far as I know DSMC2 can't output internal timecode without a REDVOLT expander or some other module.
    HALCYON DIGITAL // digital media specialists // Auckland, New Zealand
    DIT and data management services, RED post, camera and workflow gear rentals
    proud owners of WEAPON Helium #03672


    halcyon.digital
    www.nickburridge.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by David Callahan View Post
    I'm ordering the MixPre-3 for an upcoming project. I'd like to run the power from my D-tap. Anyone know where I can purchase that cable? How about the TC cable from the MixPre to Red?
    Thanks!

    Get one of these:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...nput_sled.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...d_devices.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...d_devices.html

    And this:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tap_p_tap.html

    And this:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ntacle_to.html

    Make sure you buy the Gen2 version of the MixPre3!
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Morrison View Post
    We use the Mix Pre 10 V1 all the time, and it's worked great. The timecode and dual backup look the same as whats now on the Mix Pre 3 II.

    Highly recommend.

    We've never had timecode issues, btw - and what David says is exactly right, that's a video record issue (common in the industry).
    Yup, unfortunately camera manufacturers don't seem to give two sh*ts about audio / syncing!

    Like usual, the problem is with the camera department, not the audio department.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Tresch View Post
    If you want a small state of the art preamp with 48v, limiter/compressor to connect derectly to your RED through minijack/XLR/AES I can't recomend enough the M2D2 from Sonosax.
    It's 132db DR and the limiter makes it usuable in any situations where you can't have an eye on your levels all the time.
    It can be powered directly form an internal battery, Hirose or USB-C connector.







    Best mini preamp out there but it comes at a cost...

    See you
    Patrick
    Yes, if ultimate quality in a camera mounted preamp is what matters, and cost doesn't matter, then get a Sonosax!

    (although of course just hiring a Sound Mixer would be x10,000 better)



    Quote Originally Posted by David Callahan View Post
    Does anyone know what timecode cable I would need to go from the Mix Pre 3 II to my DSMC 2 Helium body?
    Thanks!

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ntacle_to.html

    Quote Originally Posted by Akin A View Post
    Thanks, Andrew and Les.

    I now see that the Mix-Pre 3/6 II don't have a dedicated timecode-out port. If I have to use the stereo out port to send timecode to the Epic, that's a deal breaker, since I need that stereo out port to send scratch the the camera, to check playback w/ sound.
    An easy work around is just buy a Tentacle Sync E for the RED.

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ingle_set.html

    Alternatively, if you're going to get a new recorder, get one of the Zoom F series. (Zoom F8/F8n/F4/F6)

    As the Zoom F series has much better I/O overall than the MixPre3/6

    Quote Originally Posted by Akin A View Post
    I'm guessing a work-around would be using the Mix-Pre's headphone out port to send scratch to the Epic mic input, at the expense of quality (?), and then monitor the sound directly through the Epic's headphone output.
    If that works, it seems annoying, lol.
    Don't do that.
    Last edited by David Peterson; 05-21-2020 at 02:40 AM.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts