Thread: R3D workflow for FCPX in 2019

Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31  
    Quote Originally Posted by Dustin Hoye View Post
    No problem. Once you get going in FCPX with shortcuts and timeline fluidity- it's unbelievably fast and efficient for editing and color, even in long format projects w/ R3Ds in mixed timelines. Enjoi. :) Working with 8K, I have also continuously tested downscaling quality between RCX and Premiere and right now, and FCPX Spatial Conform is on par with anything else. I still love that RCX allows us to choose our downscaling algorithms, but truth be told, you'd be choosing maybe between two of what is available, 99% of the time.

    Cheers,
    Dusty
    Hi Dustin,
    This may seem like too basic a question, but I'm only starting out with R3D files on FCPX. Unfortunately editing the 4.5K files from my Raven has been very painful on my mid 2017 Imac 21.5" 4K using FCPX (dropping frames, freezing up). Tried optimized media but that didn't help.
    What computer/configuration are you using for your 8K editing on FCPX? Any tips would be hugely appreciated!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #32  
    Junior Member Daniel Jocher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    24
    Have you set your playback to better perfomance mode? Updated to the latest FCPX 10.4.7?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #33  
    Senior Member Dustin Hoye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    South Lake Tahoe
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by Dipanka Sarma View Post
    Just watched, and liked what I saw! That was my original question, I found the popup RAW modifications in FCPX too limiting. This seems like just the right answer for me, thank you!
    Hey Dipanka,

    Another easy, but effective trick is to select all in FCPX's browser (CMD+A) and then open your Apple Workflow plug in in the Inspector and adjust your color to RedRGBWideGamut and your Gamma to Log3G10 to affect all assets at once. So simple. Then proceed with the outlined color workflow, that includes the end of chain placement of the IPP2 LUTs.

    Just keep your media external and you'll be fine, in case you want to grant access to the RMDs to RCX or other apps. Keep in mind the majority of options in RCX aren't RAW related, they are additional to RAW, so aside of the Apple Workflow Plugin desperately needing an update for it's naming conventions, it has pretty much has all you'd need to work with what's actually RAW data. For example, FLUT shouldn't be there anymore. It should just be Exposure Adjust, now, which FLUT was rolled in to.

    Cheers,
    Dusty
    Dustin Hoye
    Digital Media Specialist
    The Next Bite/Cinder Infinite Creative
    RedOne MX>Epic MX>Epic-W Helium>DSMC2 Helium 8K S35 #7647 "O'Neill"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #34  
    Senior Member Dustin Hoye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    South Lake Tahoe
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by Dipanka Sarma View Post
    Hi Dustin,
    This may seem like too basic a question, but I'm only starting out with R3D files on FCPX. Unfortunately editing the 4.5K files from my Raven has been very painful on my mid 2017 Imac 21.5" 4K using FCPX (dropping frames, freezing up). Tried optimized media but that didn't help.
    What computer/configuration are you using for your 8K editing on FCPX? Any tips would be hugely appreciated!
    Hey Dipanka,

    I would need more information than this- but I work off of:

    iMac Pro (2017)
    64GB Memory DDR4
    16GB Radeon Pro Vega 64
    3GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon W

    and also a:

    MacBook Pro (2017)
    16GB Memory LPDDR3
    Radeon Pro 560 4GB /Intel GPX 630 1536 MB
    3.1 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7

    _______

    Where you store your media is also a big factor- I usually work off of USB-C to solid state G-Tech drives (2TB G Drives) or at the very least Thunderbolt 1 or 2 attached to something like a Pegasus storage array. Main thing is it's best to have your media on a separate drive from your library/project.

    _______

    As Daniel mentioned, check your performance settings (set to better performance for playback and better quality for coloring) and also, if absolutely necessary, optimizing/or proxy transcodes should work.. if it doesn't, it's likely where the files are being read/written from. Or it's a limitation of your hardware config. I honestly never transcode, I always work with the R3Ds in timeline, unless I am doing something very specific in terms of downscaling or compositing.

    _______

    Also, go into FCPX preferences and set Background Rendering to OFF. (CMD + ,)

    Best,
    Dusty
    Last edited by Dustin Hoye; 11-08-2019 at 09:08 AM.
    Dustin Hoye
    Digital Media Specialist
    The Next Bite/Cinder Infinite Creative
    RedOne MX>Epic MX>Epic-W Helium>DSMC2 Helium 8K S35 #7647 "O'Neill"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #35  
    Thanks Dusty, that's very helpful as I see the difference in my setup right away. I'm working on a 2017 Imac 21.5" 3.6Ghz i7, 1 TB fusion drive (only 32GB is flash) - and only 16GB of RAM. The Graphics card is AMD Radeon Pro 560 4GB VRAM.

    I'll see if I can upgrade my RAM to 64GB, have ordered a Thunderbolt 3 SSD external drive to work on. Will consider adding an eGPU if that doesn't work. Please advise if that sounds right, and if you have any better ideas or tips. Its awesome to get expert advice so easily on this forum, this is hugely appreciated!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #36  
    Yes I have!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #37  
    Got that. Would love to work with the RAW files in FCPX as soon as I have my computer upgraded to handle it. Very useful tips, thank you.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #38  
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Leksand, Sweden
    Posts
    81
    Hello Dusty and others,

    I have always used FCP and do not want to ditch it - for now. I am not an advanced user, but want to learn more.
    Using the built-in RED RAW modification is very easy to use.
    But I want to use RCPX in the seamless way I suppose it could work. But it doesn´t work for me.
    Found this link on Youtube and tried all the advice to no avail.
    Maybe the advice is to old (2012).

    TIA
    Sverker
    Sverker Hahn

    Slower is better!

    Red Raven #002638
    Sigma 18-35 mm
    Canon 100-400 mm
    MacMini
    MacBook Pro
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts