Thread: Where to buy good quality SDI cables?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Where to buy good quality SDI cables? 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    323
    I keep having issues with these alvins cables and other brands I buy off amazon. They don't last. Anyone can recommend a good brand and place to buy SDI cables.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
     

  4. #4  
    The vast majority of mine are Canare cable with the “fat” Canare(or similar) connectors. I get mine from Markertek. Being such a large “supply house”, they usually have a pretty good selection in-stock and made-up, but they do custom, as well.

    https://www.markertek.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,049
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher A. Bell View Post
    The vast majority of mine are Canare cable with the “fat” Canare(or similar) connectors. I get mine from Markertek. Being such a large “supply house”, they usually have a pretty good selection in-stock and made-up, but they do custom, as well.

    https://www.markertek.com
    Markertek is the retail supply side of Tecnec.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by David Rasberry View Post
    Markertek is the retail supply side of Tecnec.
    Yes, they are the same company(kind of like Remote Audio is the cable business side of Trew Audio). Most of the pre-assembled cables come bagged under the Tecnec name.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Mark Farag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason beaumont View Post
    I keep having issues with these alvins cables and other brands I buy off amazon. They don't last. Anyone can recommend a good brand and place to buy SDI cables.
    Just curious which devices you were using that fried your Alvins cables? I've had a handful of them go bad as well. I'm trying to sort out if they're getting fried from my wireless video transmitter/receivers, or also my monitors as well.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,049
    Don’t know since I’ve never used them, but i suspect cheap connectors are the cause. If there are any zinc alloys used in the connectors or center pins they will cause galvanic corrosion with the copper coax.
    Kings, Trompeter, and Canare have always been trouble free, sometimes for decades, in broadcast cable plant installations with premium cable. They usually get replaced for bandwidth upgrades as technology changes.
    Field cables sometimes mechanically fail if stressed, but that is a different issue.
    We are seeing most new cable plants include tactical fiber and IP network structured cabling.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    928
    I've always used Canare from B&H. No problems.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,822
    There’s a reason good cables are more expensive. While I own a few of Alvin's cables, they are definitely not using the best components. Cheap cables will fail way faster than good ones, that you will learn if you do this long enough.
    JAKE WILGANOWSKI
    Director of Photography / Filmmaker
    CINE-AUTOMATIC.COM
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts