Thread: FCPX Flow Causing Freezes/Crashes with R3Ds

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 FCPX Flow Causing Freezes/Crashes with R3Ds 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    940
    Since Final Cut updated some months back, the "Flow" transition that I use on interview cuts has completely failed for me when I reconnect R3Ds.

    It'll work just fine when I'm using the proxies, but for the life of me, even after clearing all of the render files, optimized + proxy media, etc., flow will stall and eventually crash my whole Final Cut.

    Has anyone else experienced this and found a solution?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    9,792
    It crashes for me too. I use mMorphcut instead.

    https://www.motionvfx.com/store,mmorphcut,p1906.html
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    598
    There's apparently an issue FCPX's Flow effect has when working with R3Ds.
    Whenever it tries to calculate for Flow, FCP X hangs with the spinning beachball.
    I ran into this issue a year ago with 10.3 and sent feedback to Apple about it.

    Will work fine if the clip is transcoded to Prores BUT that can be an issue if the shot
    you have to transcode is from a longer clip. Flow tends to be used on interviews and unfortunately interviews tend to be long clips.
    You can always transcode just the section you need in Redcine X but it's an extra step.

    Consider sending feedback to Apple.
    https://www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html

    Brian Timmons
    BRITIM/MEDIA
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    I've heard flow doesn't work on footage greater than 4k.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Timmons View Post
    There's apparently an issue FCPX's Flow effect has when working with R3Ds.
    Whenever it tries to calculate for Flow, FCP X hangs with the spinning beachball.
    I ran into this issue a year ago with 10.3 and sent feedback to Apple about it.

    Will work fine if the clip is transcoded to Prores BUT that can be an issue if the shot
    you have to transcode is from a longer clip. Flow tends to be used on interviews and unfortunately interviews tend to be long clips.
    You can always transcode just the section you need in Redcine X but it's an extra step.

    Consider sending feedback to Apple.
    https://www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html

    Brian Timmons
    BRITIM/MEDIA
    Ah ok - yeah I've been getting the spinning beach ball. I think that's what it must be - the length of the interview clip. It used to work just fine on other clips, but now I'm realizing they were probably shorter bytes. I'll definitely send feedback.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Gundu View Post
    It crashes for me too. I use mMorphcut instead.

    https://www.motionvfx.com/store,mmorphcut,p1906.html
    This looks great - thank you, Bob! Have you run into any issues with mMorphcut (like the length of a clip as Brian mentioned for Flow)?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Gundu View Post
    It crashes for me too. I use mMorphcut instead.

    https://www.motionvfx.com/store,mmorphcut,p1906.html
    Thanks, this appears to be much better than the stock Flow transition, which seems to blend between two freeze-frames, discarding any intermediate motion.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts