Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Re-cook footage for HDR

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Re-cook footage for HDR 
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    332
    I find myself needing to re-cook my RED footage for HDR output.

    Hoping to use REDcinex to back convert my older footage to REC2020 and HDR2084 gamma.

    Why doesn't HDR2084 show up?

    Reply With Quote  
     

  2.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #2  
    Best use IPP2 for this which has great support for HDR both HDR2084 and HLG formats.

    Graeme
    www.red.com - 8k Digital Cinema Camera
    Science enables stories. Stories drive science
    IPP2, Image Processing, Colour Science and Demosaic Algorithms
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    332
    Thanks Graeme.

    When I select IPP2 in RCX, it doesn't allow me to set the gamma curve to HDR2084.

    New to this IPP2 workflow. I assume I need to add a LUT in RCX?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #4  
    In your RCX preferences you can set your monitor to be 2020/HDR2084 and then you'll be seeing that image. If you pipe the image out of RCX out to your external HDR display it'll look great.

    Graeme
    www.red.com - 8k Digital Cinema Camera
    Science enables stories. Stories drive science
    IPP2, Image Processing, Colour Science and Demosaic Algorithms
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    332
    I did that. Footage was shot with Dragoncolor2 and REDgamma4, so now in the IPP2 pipeline it's displayed at REDwidegammut and LOG3G10 and looks crappy.

    Reading "915-0190 Rev-C RED OPS, IPP2 Image Pipeline Stages.pdf" and other DOCs now.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6.   This is the last RED TEAM post in this thread.   #6  
    Yes - unless you're monitoring that signal on an HDR display it will look awful.

    Graeme
    www.red.com - 8k Digital Cinema Camera
    Science enables stories. Stories drive science
    IPP2, Image Processing, Colour Science and Demosaic Algorithms
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4,921
    Blair, Hello how are you? I hope this helps you some.

    First, you will have to go into an IPP2 Workflow, as Graeme stated. So in an empty Redcine-X Project;

    1) Go to the "Edit" Tab then at the bottom of this list, choose "Preferences"




    2) Then go to "Image Pipeline" and change your settings to the ones below. Under "IPP2 Monitoring", change the "Color Space" , "Gamma Curve" and "HDR Peak Nits" to what you need them to be to view your .R3D file in the correct way.








    This should give you the settings to view your .R3d file correctly in Redcine-X


    BTW, Be Sure to have the correct monitor to view these settings on




    IPP2 Lut Creation

    If you are not going to be exporting your clips out as either maybe "DNxHD/HR" or "ProRes", you'll have to recreate the look of this .R3d image in another Program like "Adobe Premiere, "FCP-X" or "Davinci Resolve".

    To do this, you will have to make your own "IPP2 Output Transform Luts" to use with the .R3d file in one of the programs listed above. To do this:

    1) Go to the "File" tab then "IPP2 Lut Creator"




    2) Now choose the same" Color Space", "Gamma Curve" and "HDR peak Nits" you chose in the "IPP2 Monitoring" section in the "Image Pipeline" section under "Preferences"

    to remind you:













    Select a directory to save them in and press "ok". Now you can "re-create" the look of your .R3d file in another program.


    I hope this helps.


    rand
    Last edited by rand thompson; 12-14-2018 at 02:18 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    332
    Thanks Rand. This was a very good explanation.

    Turns out my issue was set up of my HDR monitor, not RCX. < doh >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4,921
    You're welcome Blair! If I had a dime for every time I forgot to set something up or do something correctly, I could probably buy a Monstro with it, HaHa.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,302
    I think trying to do this with Redcine-X Pro is crazy.

    Here's a good document from Dolby that goes into some detail on "Best Practices for HDR Mastering":

    http://www.digitalvision.tv/w/images...Guide_2018.pdf

    You need a lot more control than Redcine-X Pro can give you in order to wind up with an HDR-10 or Dolby Vision master, and a lot of it is going to have to be done shot-by-shot and scene-by-scene. Quite a few distributors require that you give them the metadata designed to tone-map the HDR image to SDR, which also requires careful adjustments, particularly in terms of what's out-of-gamut in SDR vs. HDR.

    Note also that most program distributors and networks only accept a very narrow range of monitors used for HDR, like the Sony BVM-X300 and X310. This is a very difficult, complex, and expensive area.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts