Thread: Remote start/stop for audio

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1 Remote start/stop for audio 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    22
    Hello, all!

    I'm shooting a doc on my Scarlet-W soon and am in need of suggestions for location audio recording. I'm a complete neophyte when it comes to this stuff, so feel free to tell me what's up...

    I will be a single-person team, therefore I'm in need of a relatively simple setup. I want to record audio to an external recorder rather than in camera, but don't want to have to start and stop the recorder every time I start and stop the camera. Is there any kind of timecode/sync box that will do a remote start/stop on the recorder? i.e. when camera starts speeding, audio starts as well without me touching the recorder.

    Maybe it's a pipe dream, maybe it's something that was solved decades ago... Thanks for any info!

    Tobin
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,034
    Just hire someone for it! Sound is half the resulting product, it deserve a person devoted to it.

    Alternatively, you could maaaaybe hook up your camera to an external recorder and MAYBE using the RED as the external timecode source (UGH!) then that will trigger the recorder (if RED is sensible and doesn't output anything too odd over TC, or alternatively you might use an HDMI trigger with a MixPre10T/MixPre6/DR701D).

    For example: https://www.sounddevices.com/tech-no...o-record-modes
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    You may be able to find voice-activated recorders that'll fit with your device.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Steve DiMaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1,297
    tentacle right?

    steve
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve DiMaggio View Post
    tentacle right?
    Tentacles are just one of many timecode box options.

    But I'd suggest checking out the Ultrasync ONEs, I feel like they're the best pick at the moment.



    You can see me using one of my Ultrasync ONEs with a Scarlet-W:

    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    You may be able to use tc from camera https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=s6kdW__vZgI
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member D Fuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    2,038
    The Sound Devices MixPre-3 and MixPre-6 can see a start-stop signal via HDMI from the camera for some cameras. It's not clear if Red is supported here or not, but if it is, it would be a great solution.

    The Atomos Shogun will record external audio, and is triggerable from the camera via SDI or HDMI, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it as a pure audio recording quality.

    I've never used this, but a Pix-E from VideoDevices with the Pix-LR attachment looks like a pretty capable solution if 2 qudio imputs are enough. It's the sister company of Sound Devices, so audio ought to be as good as you're likely to need.

    Another thought: Timecode audio sync will work (at least in Resolve or RedcineX, I can't speak to other software) wth one continuous audio file and any number of video files. You could simply free-run the audio recorder, and as long as the TC is in sync, you're all set. Not the most elegant solution, but one I've used from time ot time.
    David Fuller
    AirStream Pictures
    Auburn & Portland, ME
    www.airstream.pictures
    EPIC-M Dragon #1053
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Steve DiMaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1,297
    Quote Originally Posted by D Fuller View Post
    The Sound Devices MixPre-3 and MixPre-6 can see a start-stop signal via HDMI from the camera for some cameras. It's not clear if Red is supported here or not, but if it is, it would be a great solution.

    The Atomos Shogun will record external audio, and is triggerable from the camera via SDI or HDMI, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it as a pure audio recording quality.

    I've never used this, but a Pix-E from VideoDevices with the Pix-LR attachment looks like a pretty capable solution if 2 qudio imputs are enough. It's the sister company of Sound Devices, so audio ought to be as good as you're likely to need.

    Another thought: Timecode audio sync will work (at least in Resolve or RedcineX, I can't speak to other software) wth one continuous audio file and any number of video files. You could simply free-run the audio recorder, and as long as the TC is in sync, you're all set. Not the most elegant solution, but one I've used from time ot time.
    I used the pix for about 3 years, its killer, I also own the mix pre 3 and it is also a killer peice, replaced the pix xlr

    steve
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member D Fuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    2,038
    Quote Originally Posted by David Peterson View Post
    Just hire someone for it! Sound is half the resulting product, it deserve a person devoted to it.

    Alternatively, you could maaaaybe hook up your camera to an external recorder and MAYBE using the RED as the external timecode source (UGH!) then that will trigger the recorder (if RED is sensible and doesn't output anything too odd over TC, or alternatively you might use an HDMI trigger with a MixPre10T/MixPre6/DR701D).

    For example: https://www.sounddevices.com/tech-no...o-record-modes
    Red doesn’t output TC by itself. Can the Sound Devices devices younreferenced read TC from SDI or HDMI?
    David Fuller
    AirStream Pictures
    Auburn & Portland, ME
    www.airstream.pictures
    EPIC-M Dragon #1053
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by D Fuller View Post
    Red doesn’t output TC by itself. Can the Sound Devices devices younreferenced read TC from SDI or HDMI?
    There are RED backs with a TC output option.

    As for HDMI (sorry, no SDI trigger options from Sound Devices), the Sound Devices MixPre recorders have an HDMI input but it is unknown as to if both Sound Devices and RED support each other via this.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts