Thread: Mix Pre 3 Issues?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Mix Pre 3 Issues? 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    2
    Hey All,

    So I picked up a Sound Devices Mix Pre 3 to up the audio game for when I don't have a sound person and I'm going one man doc with my Scarlet-W. However, I seem t be having issues and I'm wondering if any of you kind folks who my have more audio knowledge than myself has some light to shed on the subject?

    I have a Scarlet W and use a Sennheiser M366/k6 Powered mic when It's going straight to the camera.

    Here's the issues:

    -When I attach the Mix pre to the bottom of the brain via 1/4 20, it makes a soft, fast click when I hit record. Unattached, no sound. Basically defeats the purpose of getting this device. I already have an H6n I can use but i wanted to go handheld.
    -Hdmi Trigger: Doesn't work. Can anyone give a straightforward answer as to whether it's supposed to work? I'm not well versed in sound so it could be user error. However, I'm pretty sure I have the correct settings. I've read the forum already and I'm not seeing a clear cut answer on this. Would this be a Red firmware thing, Mix Pre firmware, or both?
    -TC I'm wondering if I can cheat the TC into jamming using one of these cables https://www.gothamsound.com/product/...pin-lemo-cable and plugging into the Aux of the mix pre?

    I really like the idea of this working but so far I haven't gotten to get it to work as I'd hoped. Any advice would be amazing.

    Thanks!

    Lee
    www.cherrymultimedia.com
    www.cherrysodastudios.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    258
    Not sure about the sound when attached to the bottom. I attach attach mine to behind the camera with rear rods and a cheese plate.

    HDMI trigger only works with certain DSLR cameras I believe.

    You need a seperate TC box. I split the TC output on my ambient lockit. One goes to the red and the other to the mixpre.
    www.rogersingh.com
    cinematographer producer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    342
    I use the MixPre-D with this audio cable: https://www.trewaudio.com/product/remote-audio-camcxyd/ and Sennheiser K6.

    I have no audio issues at all with this setup.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    991
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Cherry View Post
    I have a Scarlet W and use a Sennheiser M366/k6 Powered mic when It's going straight to the camera.

    You mean "ME" not "M3" :-) Thus "ME66" is what it is usually called (or a bit longer the "ME66/K6"), basically an entry level / student grade / videographer type shotgun.

    The ME66 I used back when I was starting out, first one I purchased after my NTG2, thinking it was an "upgrade". Nah, not really, bit of money wasted really! These days my ME66 barely even gets usage as a back up shotgun.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Cherry View Post
    -Hdmi Trigger: Doesn't work. Can anyone give a straightforward answer as to whether it's supposed to work? I'm not well versed in sound so it could be user error. However, I'm pretty sure I have the correct settings. I've read the forum already and I'm not seeing a clear cut answer on this. Would this be a Red firmware thing, Mix Pre firmware, or both?
    Could be a mix of both as to what the issue is.

    You need to find out if RED even supports HDMI triggering in some form (look up and see if Atomos recorders for instance can be triggered by your RED), and then if the MixPre supports RED's variant or not. (as not everyone handles it the same)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Cherry View Post
    -TC I'm wondering if I can cheat the TC into jamming using one of these cables https://www.gothamsound.com/product/...pin-lemo-cable and plugging into the Aux of the mix pre?

    I really like the idea of this working but so far I haven't gotten to get it to work as I'd hoped. Any advice would be amazing.
    Three major problems I see that you should double check first as to if they'd be an issue or not:

    Some timecode cables only work in one direction, that one you linked to is from 3.5mm to LEMO. You'd want the reverse of that.

    I think RED only has timecode in not out? (except with certain modules)

    *IF* RED does TC out, does it pass a record trigger at all?

    You might just want to put an Ultrasync ONE on each of the MixPre3 and RED.
    Last edited by David Peterson; 05-21-2018 at 08:06 PM.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    991
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Singh View Post
    You need a seperate TC box. I split the TC output on my ambient lockit. One goes to the red and the other to the mixpre.
    One of the nice features of the Timecode Systems Ultrasync ONE is you have *two* outputs on the TC box, one for genlock and one output for timecode. But the genlock output can also be set to LTC as well, thus no need for a splitter cable! You could easily in a pinch use a single USO being feed to both the MixPre3 and RED at the same time.


    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    18
    Hey Lee,

    I have the same with noise interference and have narrowed it down to my Mix Pre 3 being powdered by a V-Lock that is also running the camera.
    If I power it using AAs or a V-Lock that is not connected to the camera the audio quality is perfect.

    Currently trying to find a solution.

    Did you have any luck?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    991
    The NP-F battery sled is another powering accessory from Sound Devices you might like to consider.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Member David Wright's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    30
    Suffering from the same clicking sound when in record. Have tried different combinations of directly connecting to the base expander module, through a Wooden Camera A box, Sound Devices mixer... all with the same results. Has anyone solved this issue. Thanks! Using a Dragon X, Base Expander and Wooden Camera gold mount plate.
    David Wright
    DP / Producer
    www.expeditioncamera.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member William Long's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sweden & France
    Posts
    289
    @Lee The HDMI trigger connection does not work with RED cameras, as of yet. Have you changed your cable for another? I have the MixPre-3 and it is working fine on the Scarlet_W.

    Hello David, nice to see you around and hope to meet up with you one of these days! You're missed, all the best mate.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts