Thread: Epic W Helium vs Epic W Gemini Purchase

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. #1 Epic W Helium vs Epic W Gemini Purchase 
    I don't know if this is the right place to ask the question as most of you guys don't have the new Gemini, but I am thinking whether I should go for the Gemini sensor or the Helium sensor. Extra cost of the helium sensor would be no issue for me. I am a film student at NYU, and most of the stuff that I shoot are indie and NYU films. I think I definitely won't need 8K and 5K would fit my needs as I would be editing in 4K or 1080HD. I am guessing the Helium sensor has superior image quality but the Gemini sensor would be more versatile as it has dual sensitivity mode.

In most circumstances, I will be able to get the subject lit. I don't care about saving on renting light kits as it is the directors who pay for it.

If Helium produces superior images when properly lit(compared to when Gemini is properly lit), I'd go for Helium.

However, if Helium and Gemini produces similar quality image(when properly lit), I'd go for Gemini as I just simply don't need 8K. If such is true, the added versatility of Gemini in its ability to shoot low light mode and its abiliy to shoot 96fps wit no crop would be an advantage in my opinion.

Questions I have are:

1) When properly lit, does Helium sensor provide a superior image quality over Gemini?

2) What is the maximum ISO you can shoot on Epic W Helium with a clean image?

3) How does Epic W with Helium sensor compare against Alexa Mini? Why are some people complaining about how Epic W with Helium sensor is a complicated camera to shoot with?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Jason S. Lee; 03-28-2018 at 02:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Lee View Post