Thread: The Social Network Cinematography (Need Advice)

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 The Social Network Cinematography (Need Advice) 
    Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to owning a Red, I picked up a R1MX back in September and have been loving every second of this camera. Even if it's considered an old in the cinema world I actually prefer the look of the R1 over some of the newer sensors.

I'm a huge fan of Jeff Cronenweth and David Fincher. I'm about to invest in some Quasar tubes and I need a little help. The Quasars are offered in tungsten or daylight... Just like Kino's

I need a little help on weather to pick the tungsten's or daylights. I will mostly be shooting interior night style scenes. If I went with daylight Quasars I could of course CTO them but at the cost of losing a stop or 2 and visa versa the other way around if I picked up the tungsten's I could gel them with CTB.

I not sure if anybody here that has worked on the set of TSN could maybe give a little insight on what was used? I attached a few pictures of some BTS and also a few shot's I tried myself to try to match the look using basic tungsten par cans and bouncing light on my R1MX

What do you guys think... these look like tungsten or daylight kinos?
    Attached Images

I would buy the Switch or Crossfade Quasars if I was gonna invest. I have a couple of 4’ switch tubes from Quasar Science and love them. They cost a bit more than the T8 or whatevere they are called, but they also have more output i belive i have read somewhere.

Not sure if you read these already.

From ASC: https://theasc.com/ac_magazine/Octob...ork/page1.html